Bibliographer's Guide

Introduction

Intended audience and use
The Bibliographer's Manual addresses Collection Development procedures within the Regis University Library. It is intended to serve as an orientation aid for new bibliographers and a sourcebook and guide to collection development for both new and experienced bibliographers.

Purpose and need
This manual grew out of specific needs. As the number of degree programs expand at the university, so too does the need for increased materials budgets and staffing. These new demands are not just a matter of increased volume, but also a much greater range of disciplines requiring both specialized subject expertise and technical skills. As the pool of bibliographers increases and new librarians move in and out of these positions, it is imperative that there is a tool to streamline procedures and to ensure continuity and consistency among the bibliographers. This manual is intended to follow and complement the Collection Development Policy that was last revised in 2011. This manual will also direct bibliographers to other appropriate policies.

Scope
This manual is designed to be practical in nature. It is descriptive rather than prescriptive offering options rather than orders to address the varying needs of the audience for which it is intended. The manual is an evolving document that will reflect changing practices as new programs, technologies, and joint alliances manifest themselves. The Collections Committee will review the manual annually or when major policy or procedural changes take place.