Guides: Health Care Master Research Guide: Drug Information

Regis Drug Information Databases

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
This multi-media database has 25 online textbooks which can be searched or browsed by curricular topic or organ system. Drug monographs treat names, generics, classes, and patient information. Case studies, lab tests, calculators, videos, and effectiveness statements are also available. NOTE: The "Print Chapter” option has been removed from AccessPharmacy. The "Print Section" option remains.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Clinical Pharmacology provides information on U.S. prescription drugs, non-prescription drugs, herbs, and supplements. Drug identification information, monographs, patient information, and MedGuides are included.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
A clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care, with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. Mobile access is available, see instructions here.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/DynaMed_Plus/DynaMed_Plus_User_Guide
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers This link opens in a new window
A drug information source that provides drug administration and dosage, indications, contraindications, warnings, actions, drug interactions, and patient information.
LexiComp This link opens in a new window
Drug information database includes identification of drugs, drug interactions, IV compatibility information from Kings, and patient information in many languages. FDA recalls are also included.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
A medical-reference tool intended for clinicians. It includes information on drugs, toxicology, interactions, diseases, acute care, patient education and alternative medicine. Information on downloading and accessing their mobile apps is available from the Download Mobile Apps link or go to the Google Play store for Android and the App store for Apple.
NOTE: Micromedex 2.0 is not compatible with Firefox 4.0 or higher. It is optimized for Internet Explorer 7 or 8.
Pharmacy Library This link opens in a new window
PharmacyLibrary features content from the American Pharmacists Association's authoritative textbooks, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, an interactive NAPLEX review, and a variety of news sources.

Drug Information Websites

DailyMed
Provides information from FDA-approved package inserts and new information from the FDA.
Drugs.com
Drug identification tool. Pill identifier with search by pill color and shape. Information about U.S. prescription and OTC drugs including consumer’s ratings and comments. Advertising enables the web site to remain free of charge, but the Drug monographs are the site are from Micromedex, Facts & Comparisons, and the FDA.
Epocrates
An Aetnahealth Company, Epocrates offers a point of care database of drug, clinical, consumer health information and medical news. There are brochures for the patient on a large variety of disorders. The mobile app allows you to find information on your Apple or Android device.
Medscape
You must first register individually, but there is no charge for using this web site. Search by drug name or condition. Drug monographs include prices, brands, and photographs of pills, and the information from the manufacturers’ package inserts (the information that is in the PDR).
Orange Book
FDA website that provides ratings of bioequivalence. Search by active ingredient, proprietary names, patent, applicant holder, or application number. Includes a current listing of approved generic products.
RX List
Top 200 list of drugs based on number of prescriptions dispensed. Searches include drug brand, nonproprietary name, imprint, NDC code. Drug monographs contain indications, pharmacological action, side effects, and more). Summaries of package inserts are included.