Guides: Chemistry Research Guide: Books

Lumen Classic, the Library Catalog

Use Lumen, the Regis Library catalog, to find books, electronic books, DVDs, and more.

Chemistry Reference Books

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
call number: REF QD65.H3 2006-2007
Link to online version in column to right.Handbook provides access to core scientific data and information required by physical scientists and engineers.

Van Nostrand's Chemical Encyclopedia
call number: REF QD4.V36 2005
Alphabetically arranged entries covering 2750 topics.

Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry
call number: REF QD148 .E53 2005
This work is a revision of the 1994 edition. The new edition features over 1,100 entries, both brief definitions and lengthy main entries. The 285 main articles are lengthy treatments with very useful, lengthy bibliographies; 860 entries consist of brief definitions a few paragraphs long.

Prospector Catalog

Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.

Encyclopedia & Handbooks for Chemistry and Physics

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
The standard handbook of chemical and physical reference data commonly used by physical scientists and engineers.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. In appreciation of a gift from the estate of Frances Amelia Josephine Laner, in memory of her parents John Daniel and Mary Magdalena Laner, for a collection in support of the sciences.

Google Books

Electronic book collections

Books 24x7 This link opens in a new window
Please log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.
Each title is also cataloged in Lumen with a hot link.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains 410 reference dictionaries and handbooks in all subject areas. You’ll find entries for words, concepts, phenomena, quotes, figures, formulae, or historical or cultural events. Subjects range broadly over the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and foreign languages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to begin for research in humanities, social sciences, health, education, religion, business, biography, art, or law. GVRL has the multi-volume Dictionary of American History, Business Plans Handbook, and complete encyclopedias of Education, Sociology, Mental Health, Philosophy, Religion, Judaism and Catholicism.
Additional search help is available at: https://solutions.cengage.com/gale-training/materials/tip-sheets/
National Academies Press (NAP) This link opens in a new window
NAP publishes the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. NAP offers more than 4,000 titles on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book, with some exceptions.

Other Catalogs

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, or World Catalog, lists all types of library materials from libraries worldwide. The libraries that own each item are also listed. No full-text is available online for items listed in WorldCat.