Guides: Jewish Studies Research Guide: Books

Lumen Classic, the Library Catalog

Use Lumen, the Regis Library catalog, to find books, electronic books, DVDs, and more.

Prospector Catalog

Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.

Electronic Book Collections

Ebook Collections
A guide to ebook collections available through the Regis University Library.

Books 24x7 This link opens in a new window
Please log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.
Each title is also cataloged in Lumen with a hot link.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains 410 reference dictionaries and handbooks in all subject areas. You’ll find entries for words, concepts, phenomena, quotes, figures, formulae, or historical or cultural events. Subjects range broadly over the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and foreign languages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to begin for research in humanities, social sciences, health, education, religion, business, biography, art, or law. GVRL has the multi-volume Dictionary of American History, Business Plans Handbook, and complete encyclopedias of Education, Sociology, Mental Health, Philosophy, Religion, Judaism and Catholicism.
Additional search help is available at: https://solutions.cengage.com/gale-training/materials/tip-sheets/
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window
A collection of online information technology books, including materials published by O'Reilly, Project Management Institute, Adobe Press, Microsoft Press, and Oracle Press. Covers topics such as certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more. On the login page, from the drop down list of institutions, select "Not Listed? Click here". Enter your regis.edu to register. You will have immediate access to Safari. Check your inbox for a “Welcome to O'Reilly” email to access additional features (check your spam filter if you do not receive the email).
The only information required to obtain temporary access is a Regis email address. Other information is optional and used to provide customized result. Any information you enter, including your Regis email address, is protected by the O'Reilly Privacy Policy.

Google Books

Online Reference Works

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions
This multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife is the first of its kind. The diverse range of articles covers specific artifacts, rituals, ceremonies, biblical figures, and legends-in addition to broad topics such as humor, folk dance, costumes, and folk narratives.

Jewish Studies Reference Books

Reference books for Jewish Studies include:

Encyclopedia Judaica
call number: Ref DS102.8 .E496 2007
A comprehensive 22 volume alphabetically arranged encyclopedia set. Contains over 21,000 entries, 600 maps, and 150 pages of full color images. One of Library Journals Top 50 Reference Works of the Millennium.

Essential Judaism: A Complete guide to the Beliefs, Customs, and Rituals
call number: Ref BM561.R58 2000
Thematically-arranged reference work covering modern practices. Includes several appendices for primary documents, population by country, and Jewish Holidays, as well as a chronology of Jewish history beginning with Sarah and Abraham.

The Talmud: The Steinsaltz Edition
call number: Ref BM499.5 .E4 1989
This nine volume edition includes Hebrew-Aramaic text concurrent with a literal English translation and an English commentary suitable for lay persons. Notes a provided in the margins. A single volume companion guide is also available

Other Catalogs

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, or World Catalog, lists all types of library materials from libraries worldwide. The libraries that own each item are also listed. No full-text is available online for items listed in WorldCat.