Alumni Resources

Library resources for alumni

Free Articles

Information Technology Web Sites

CORR (Computing Research Repository)
A database from Cornell University providing open access to 550,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science and Quantitative Biology. CORR allows users to search, browse and download papers at no charge via its digital repository.

Computing Dictionary
A part of the Free Dictionary by Farlex online, over 28,000 computer related terms are defined.

DMOZ Open Directory Project: Computers
Managed by a global community of volunteers, the Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory on the Web.

FOLDOC: Free On-line Dictionary of Computing
Searchable on-line dictionary of computer related terms, including acronymns, architecture, operating systems, and programming.

Galaxy: Computer Technology eiNET.net
Established in 1994, eiNET is a searchable Internet directory that uses a team of skilled librarians to search the weband organize quality content.

Infomine Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Site from the University of California, with Internet resources for physical sciences, engineering, computing and math.

Internet Public Library
Maintained by a group of students from a consortium of U.S. colleges and universities with programs in information science, the computers and Internet collection includes links to information technology, computing machines, their connections and their capabilities.

Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology
A comprehensive site providing free access to high quality resources on the Internet.

Librarians' Internet Index
The librarians' Internet Index is a comprehensive website with over 20,000 entries maintained by librarians and organized into 14 main topics. Hosted by the iSchool at Drexel, College of INformation Science and Technology.

Science.gov
Conduct a unified search of the U.S. government's vast stores of scientific and technical information, including research from 17 U.S. government science organizations within 12 Federal agencies.

Virus Information Library (McAfee)
Detailed information on where viruses come from, how they infect your system and how to remove them.

W3C: Web Accessibility Initiative
Information on policies and guidelines for designing Web sites to be accessible for users of assistive technology.

WebDesignHelper
Provides free web templates that are easy to download and edit. Vertical and horizontal menus, graphics, fonts, icons, buttons, tutorials, and more are available.

Webopedia
Free encyclopedia containing definitions for computer and internet terminology.

WWW Computer Architecture Page (University of Wisconsin)
Links to the latest information on computer architecture research. Follow the link to "Tools, Benchmarks, and Simulators" for links to system-specific tools and simulators that are available on-line.

WWW Virtual Library: Computing and Computer Science
Gateway site to topics on computing and computer science, with categories like artificial intelligence, digital rights management, and logic programming, to name a few.

ZDnet Reviews
Reviews of computer and other technical items

 

Find Books