This is the "Welcome" page of the "Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Regis University Library Renewals My Account Insite WebAdvisor WorldClass Regis University home Image Map

Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Collection  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2013 URL: http://libguides.regis.edu/steele Print Guide Email Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

    Housekeeping Information

Provenance

The Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Collection was acquired by  the Regis University Archives and Special Collections in October 2010 upon the death of Fr. Steele.

Restrictions

The entire collection is open for research use.

Ownership and Literary Rights

The Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Collection is the physical property of Regis University Library. Permission to use unpublished materials in the collection must be obtained in writing from an officer of the Regis University Library.

Preferred Citaton

The Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Collection, Archives and Special Collections, Regis University.

Size

8 cartons, 6 oil paintings, 16 trunks, 3 oversize.

 

        Hours and Location

Tuesday - Friday

7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

All materials in Archives & Special Collections can be found on the 4th floor of Dayton Memorial Library, Room 401. All researchers are welcome; an appointment is advised. To ensure access to the Archives and Special Collections, contact Elizabeth Cook for an appointment.

 

Scope and Content

                                       

 The materials in the Thomas J. Steele, S.J. Collection include his papers, his published articles and books, his artwork, and his  Native American Collection. 

Thomas J. Steele Papers: These materials include Steele’s personal records for rank and tenure; photographs both of his family and friends, as well as photographs taken by Steele for his publications; manuscripts of both published and unpublished writings; unpublished manuscripts by Fr. B.A.Schiffini, a Jesuit priest who worked in the New Mexico Mission from 1883 -1913, presumably the topic of a future project by Steele; and lastly, reprints of articles by other writers Steele used for his own research.

Published articles and books by Thomas J. Steele: Although some publications are unavailable, over ninety books and articles have been collected, inventoried, and archived in the Special Collections of Regis University.

Artwork by Thomas J. Steele: The Archives and Special Collections owns six oil paintings done by Thomas J. Steele.

Regis Native American Collection: The culture of the southwest was often the primary subject of Steele’s writing and collecting. The core of this Native American collection, however, began with pottery acquired by Armand W. Forstall, S.J., although no records specifically itemize these pieces. Beginning in the 1970s, Steele added more pottery, as well as some newer pieces by potters reviving the aesthetic traditions of their pueblos. He also expanded the collection to contain additional items of native culture, such as blankets, arrow heads, moccasins, sand paintings, a cradleboard, jewelry and more. Because only guesswork can identify which of the 193 items were contributed by each of these two Jesuits, the entire collection is inventoried as the Regis Native American Collection.

 

Regis University Archivist

Profile Image
Elizabeth Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-964-3612
ecook@regis.edu
Send Email

Special Collections Coordinator

Profile Image
Gerald Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-458-4020
gcook@regis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip