Guides: Counseling & Family Therapy Research Guide: Books

Lumen Classic, the Library Catalog

Use Lumen, the Regis Library catalog, to find books, electronic books, DVDs, and more.

Prospector Catalog

Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.

Google Books

Counseling Reference Books

Reference books for Counseling include:

The Counseling Dictionary
call number: REF BF637.C6 G53322006
For counseling professionals, students and lay people, this dictionary defines counseling terms, historic influential professionals and acronyms.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V)
call number: REF RC455.2.C4 D536 2013
This authoritative guide to the diagnosis and description of mental disorders is widely used in all mental-health fields. Entries are organized by type of illness. Online access is also available.

Encyclopedia of Counseling: Master Review and Tutorial for the National Counselor Examination and State Counseling Exams
call number: REF BF637.C6 R67342002
Primarily a study guide covering material commonly included for national and state counseling exams.

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
call number: HQ9 2003eb .I54 2003eb (online book)
Online version of the 4 volume print edition.

Electronic book collections

PsychiatryOnline.org This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline includes access to the DSM V and a number of psychiatry textbooks. Access also includes the American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services,
Academic Psychiatry (through 12/2013), Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, and Psychiatric News. NOTE: They are currently in the process of upgrading the website and certain features have been disabled, such as emailing book chapters.
Books 24x7 This link opens in a new window
Please log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.
Each title is also cataloged in Lumen with a hot link.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains 410 reference dictionaries and handbooks in all subject areas. You’ll find entries for words, concepts, phenomena, quotes, figures, formulae, or historical or cultural events. Subjects range broadly over the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and foreign languages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to begin for research in humanities, social sciences, health, education, religion, business, biography, art, or law. GVRL has the multi-volume Dictionary of American History, Business Plans Handbook, and complete encyclopedias of Education, Sociology, Mental Health, Philosophy, Religion, Judaism and Catholicism.
Additional search help is available at: https://solutions.cengage.com/gale-training/materials/tip-sheets/

Other Catalogs

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, or World Catalog, lists all types of library materials from libraries worldwide. The libraries that own each item are also listed. No full-text is available online for items listed in WorldCat.