Guides: Catholic Studies Research Guide: Books

Lumen Classic, the Library Catalog

Use Lumen, the Regis Library catalog, to find books, electronic books, DVDs, and more.

Prospector Catalog

Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.

Other Catalogs

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, or World Catalog, lists all types of library materials from libraries worldwide. The libraries that own each item are also listed. No full-text is available online for items listed in WorldCat.

Google Books

Online Reference Works

New Catholic Encyclopedia
This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Catholicism
Encyclopedia of Catholicism covers the key people, movements, institutions, practices, and doctrines of Roman Catholicism from its earliest origins. Focusing on the living faith and its historical and social background, this volume provides academic and college students with the tools to help them understand this multifaceted religion
Atlas of the Bible, Andromeda
The first atlas of the Bible to treat its subject geographically rather than historically, this unique work features the main biblical sites, such as Galilee, the Judean desert and the Jerusalem hills, illustrated with colour maps. The history and main features of each region and site are described, and references are made throughout to incidents from the Old and New Testaments.
Who's Who of the Bible
Every single individual whose name is listed in the Bible is listed here in order of their appearance in the Bible with their dates, a concise description of their lives and significance, and references to where they occur in the text.

Catholic Studies Reference Books

Reference books for Catholic Studies include:

New Catholic Encyclopedia
call number: BX841 .N44 2003eb
This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.

The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History
call number: Ref BX1406.2 .E53 1997
A unique, single volume, alphabetically arranged reference source with entries for influential persons and significant events in American Catholicism during the period from Columbus to the present.

Dictionary of Popes and the Papacy
call number: Ref BX955.3 .L4913 2001
Includes short biographical entries for all popes and antipopes on historical record as well as entries covering theological, canonical, and institutional roles of papacy. Includes references, a chronological list of popes and a bibliography of select works.