Guides: Physics Research Guide: Books

Lumen Classic, the Library Catalog

Use Lumen, the Regis Library catalog, to find books, electronic books, DVDs, and more.

Prospector Catalog

Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.

Physics Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Physics
call number: Ref QC5.E545 2005
Two volume guide arranged alphabetically with over 500 entries covering all sub-disciplines.

Molecular Spectra and Molecular Structure
call number: Ref QC454.M6 H4713
Three volume encyclopedia with topically arranged entries.

Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy
call number: Ref QB14.D53 2001
Alphabetically arranged definitions authored by scholars and professionals in the field.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics

See online link in column to right

Other Catalogs

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, or World Catalog, lists all types of library materials from libraries worldwide. The libraries that own each item are also listed. No full-text is available online for items listed in WorldCat.

Google Books

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
The standard handbook of chemical and physical reference data commonly used by physical scientists and engineers.

Electronic book collections

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains 410 reference dictionaries and handbooks in all subject areas. You’ll find entries for words, concepts, phenomena, quotes, figures, formulae, or historical or cultural events. Subjects range broadly over the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and foreign languages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to begin for research in humanities, social sciences, health, education, religion, business, biography, art, or law. GVRL has the multi-volume Dictionary of American History, Business Plans Handbook, and complete encyclopedias of Education, Sociology, Mental Health, Philosophy, Religion, Judaism and Catholicism.
Additional search help is available at: https://solutions.cengage.com/gale-training/materials/tip-sheets/
National Academies Press (NAP) This link opens in a new window
NAP publishes the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. NAP offers more than 4,000 titles on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book, with some exceptions.