Research Instruments

Databases

Search for instruments using these databases. You may cut and paste this search statement in a search box in the EBSCOhost databases listed below to focus your search on research instruments: (instrument OR instruments OR questionnaire OR questionnaires OR survey OR scale OR index OR tool).

search example

Measurement of Nursing Outcomes (Online books)

The Measurement of Nursing Outcomes series contains a number of full-text instruments.  You can access all three volumes of the second edition by clicking the titles below. Use the index in the box above to search by topic or title of the instrument. You can sign in to read the books by entering your RegisNET username and password. If you are not sure what they are, contact ITS at 303-458-4050.

How to Find Research Instruments

Finding an instrument that is right for your research can be a challenge. This page contains links to sources that may help you locate an instrument for your capstone project. You will need to enter your RegisNET username and password to use the Regis databases and online books.

Online Instrument Indexes.

The HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments), Mental Measurement Yearbooks with Tests in Print databases may help you find out the name of an appropriate instrument but it can still be difficult finding the instrument itself. You might have to contact the author or publisher for permission to use the instrument and you may be required to purchase the instrument. Some instruments have been published full-text in journal articles or books.

Full-Text Instruments in Books:

  • The Measurement of Nursing Outcomes series contains some full text instruments. An index for the MNO series has been compiled to allow you to search for instruments in all three volumes at the same time. We have both electronic and print editions.  See below.

Databases.

Journal Article Databases such as CINAHL (nursing journals),MEDLINE (medical and health care journals), PsycINFO (psychology journals), ERIC (education journals), and Academic Search Premier (journals in a variety of subjects) may be used to find instruments evaluated or used in research articles. Our library purchases these databases from a company called EBSCOhost. As with the HaPI, MMY, & TIP databases, the instruments found by the databases might not be contained in the article about the database. If it is included in the article, it may be in the appendix at the end of the article.

 If you need help finding instruments, please contact the Research Help Desk at 303-458-4031 or library@regis.edu.

Recommended Websites