Reference Resources Guide

MLA Citation Examples for Online Sources

Here are a few examples of how to cite online sources in MLA format. For a complete discussion and further examples, see Chapter 5, section 5.6, "Citing Web Publications" in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.), located behind the reference desk at DML. If you have a personal copy of the Handbook, visit http://www.mlahandbook.org to create an account and access the full text of the handbook online, along with over 200 additional examples. Please note that URLs should be included as "supplementary information only when the reader probably cannot locate the source without it or when your instructor requires it." (p. 182), so most examples provided here assume that a URL is not required.  When a URL is required, it is placed at the end of the citation using the same format as demonstrated in the Personal Web Site example below.

An Article from an Online Article Database:

Chaitlin, Julia and Dan Bar-On. "Emotional Memories of Family Relationships During the Holocaust."

         Journal of Loss and Trauma 7.4 (2002): 299-326. Academic Search Premier. Web. 16 Sept. 2009.

An Article from an Online Periodical

Yi, Kei-Mu. "Can Vertical Specialization Explain the Growth of World Trade?" Journal of Political

         Economy 111.1 (2003): 52-102. Web. 22 July 2008.

An Article from an Online Newspaper or News Service

Duke, Alan. "Kanye West Calls Swift with 'Sincere Apology.'" CNN.com. Cable News Network, 15 Sept.

         2009. Web. 16 Sept. 2009.

An Online Book

Rennie, Bryan S. Reconstructing Eliade: Making Sense of Religion. Albany, NY: State U of New York P,

         1996. NetLibrary. Web. 16 Sept. 2009.

A Personal Web Site (no sponsoring organization; optional URL included)

Sass, Edmund J. Geography Lesson Plans and Resources. N.p., 26 Oct. 2008. Web. 16 Sept. 2009.

         <http://www.cloudnet.com/~edrbsass/edgeography.htm>.

An Institutional or Organization Web Site (corporate author)

University of Mississippi English Department. The Mississippi Writers Page. U of Mississippi, 2008.

         Web. 16 Sept. 2009.

An Online Government Publication

United States. Dept. of State. Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs. Background Note: Iraq. Feb. 2008. Web.

         16 Sept. 2009.

MLA Citation Examples for Print Sources

Here are a few examples of how to cite online sources in MLA format. For a complete discussion and further examples, see Chapter 5, sections 5.4, 5.5, and 5.7 in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.), located behind the reference desk at DML. If you have a personal copy of the Handbook, visit http://www.mlahandbook.org to create an account and access the full text of the handbook online, along with over 200 additional examples.

Books

Gup, Ted. Nation of Secrets: The Threat to Democracy and the American Way of Life. New York: 
         Doubleday, 2007. Print.

Book Chapters

Higson, Andrew. “The Concept of National Cinema.” Film and Nationalism. Ed. Alan Williams. New 
         Brunswick: Rutgers UP, 2002. 52-67. Print.

Journal Articles

David, Craig R. “A Perfect Marriage on the Rocks: Geoffrey and Philippa Chaucer, and the Franklin’s
         Tale
.” Chaucer Review 37.2 (2002): 129-144. Print.

Wasserman, David, and Alan Strudler. “Can a Nonconsequentialist Count Lives?” Philosophy & Public
         Affairs
31.1 (2003): 71-94. Print.

Newspaper Articles

Barron, James. “Broadway Stars, Out a Bit Early.” New York Times 18 Feb. 2003, late ed.: B1+. Print.

Encyclopedias

Kersten, Holger. “Tramps and Hobos.” American History through Literature: 1870 - 1920. Ed. Tom Quirk
         and Gary Scharnhorst. 3 vols. Detroit: Scribner’s, 2006. Print.

Government Publications

United States. Dept. of Education. Office of Intergovernmental and Interagency Affairs. Helping Your 
         Child Succeed in School
. Washington: GPO, 2002. Print.

Videorecordings

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter. Dir. Robert Ellis Miller. Perf. Alan Arkin and Sondra Locke. 1968. Warner 
         Home Video, 2008. DVD.

Free citation generators

The library does not guarantee the citations created by the following services. It is suggested that all citations are thoroughly checked after creation.

EasyBib
KnightCite
Landmarks Citation Machine
NoodleBib Express