This is the "Welcome" page of the "Community Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Regis University Library Renewals My Account Insite WebAdvisor WorldClass Regis University home Image Map

Community Services  

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.regis.edu/community Print Guide Email Alerts
Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us!

For more information on community services at the Dayton Memorial Library, please contact the reference desk at library@regis.edu, or by calling 303-458-4031 (1-800-388-2366 x4031).                                                    

 

Public Printing

Public printing is available at Dayton Memorial Library. Guests must purchase a print card using the self-service card dispenser next to the designated guest printer on the main (2nd) floor.  The card costs $1, then guests must add money to the card in $1, $5, $10, or $20 increments using the self-service system . Each print costs 10 cents (double-sided pages are 20 cents).  If you have questions about using your print card, please ask for assistance. 

Guests may also use their print cards to use one of the main floor copiers.  Instructions are posted at the copier, but please contact the circulation desk if you have any questions.

 

Public Access and Borrowing Privileges

The general public is welcome to use the Dayton Memorial Library for research and study. Those age 16 and older may also get a free library card and have up to six items checked out at a time. For more information on circulation policies, including fees for overdue or lost materials, see Checking Out Materials.

 

Computer Use and Network Access

Onsite access to many article databases, including approximately 5,000 full-text journals, is available at the Dayton Memorial Library. Guests of Regis are limited to one hour of online computer use each day. Academic research takes priority over all other online activities.

A wireless network with guest access is available throughout Dayton Memorial Library. You will be asked to set up an account when you connect to the guest access.  A brochure for helping you connect to network services is available at the reference desk. Please note that you may be required to update your laptop's security settings and software in order to connect to the network.  

 

Instructional Services

Research classes are available for college preparatory high school classes (e.g., Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate) so that students may experience the resources of a college library and get a taste of what research will be like at the next level. The instructional classroom has 19 student terminals, so we recommend groups no larger than 20 at a time. Due to heavy internal instructional loads at the beginning of each semester, most sessions should be scheduled two to three months after the beginning of each term. Contact Martin Garnar, Reference Services Librarian, by e-mail or by calling 303-964-5459 for more information and to schedule classes.      

 

Archives & Special Collections

Visits to the Archives and Special Collections of Regis University are offered to all junior and senior high school classes wishing to introduce their students to a learning experience through primary materials. One-hour class visits are offered Tuesday through Fridays between 8:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. for groups no larger than 20 at a time. Appointments are necessary. Please contact Elizabeth Cook, Archivist, by e-mail or by calling 303-964-3612.

Classes on the following topics are available:

  • The Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge Before and After the Printing Press
    Students examine leaves [pages] from 13th century handmade manuscript books created before the new technology of the printing press introduced a concept of standardization into the medieval world. Leaves from early printed books illustrate the cultural changes that followed affecting science, the Church, education, and government and began the expanded worldview of the Renaissance in the West.
  • The North American Indian, by Edward Curtis. Vols 1-20; folios 1-20.
    Between 1890 and 1930, Edward Curtis photographed and wrote ethnographic profiles of over 80 Native American tribes from the southwest, north to Alaska. Today this documentation of pre-industrial cultures is controversial. To some it is a valuable record of societies whose histories are vanishing with their oral traditions. To others, Curtis’ photographs present a skewed and sentimental 19th century ideal. Students view these rare and lovely photographs and debate the pros and cons of two viewpoints.
  • Notarianni Political Collection: 1796 - 2004
    The collection begins in 1796 with items used to introduce already elected U.S. presidents to the population through well-made articles for personal and domestic use. The concept of a political campaign to promote a candidate started in the mid-nineteenth century. By the mid 1900s, campaign memorabilia was made up of disposable novelties to advertise candidates with the humor or appeal of their slogans. History, language, and visual art classes gain insights into American culture through the diversity of artifacts spanning two hundred years of presidential campaigns.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip