This is the "Welcome" page of the "Elinor Miller Greenberg Papers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Regis University Library Renewals My Account Insite WebAdvisor WorldClass Regis University home Image Map

Elinor Miller Greenberg Papers  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.regis.edu/greenberg Print Guide Email Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Housekeeping Information

Provenance

The papers were donated by Elinor Miller Greenberg in 2006.

Restrictions

The entire collection is open for research use.

Ownership and Literary Rights

The Elinor Miller Greenberg Papers are the physical property of Regis University Libraries. Permission to publish photgraphs of the collection must be obtained in writing from an officer of the Regis University Libraries.

Preferred Citaton

The Elinor Miller Greenberg Papers, Archives and Special Collections, Regis University

Size

10 cartons, 2 oversized items

 

        Hours and Location

Tuesday - Friday

7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

All materials in Archives & Special Collections can be found on the 4th floor of Dayton Memorial Library, Room 401. All researchers are welcome; an appointment is advised. To ensure access to the Archives and Special Collections, contact Elizabeth Cook for an appointment.

 

Scope and Content

This collection documents the work of educator Elinor Miller Greenberg from 1971 to 2006. Greenberg was a pioneer in developing adult education and experiential learning programs in Colorado. Her work began in the 1970s and addressed the educational needs of diverse, non-traditional adult learners brought into the workforce as a result of the Civil Rights Movement, the Women’s Movement, and the Vietnam War.

In addition to designing and implementing innovative programs, Greenberg trained other educators to reach non-traditional adult learners who were at various developmental stages and who used a variety of learning styles. Much of her work promoted effective learning based on the work of William G. Perry, Jr., whose Scheme Greenberg adapted for use in adult program design and evaluation. Greenberg also addressed the practical application of how learning translates into areas of leadership in businesses and the community. In the early 1990s, she promoted interactive distance learning through video and online course delivery, such as the first online Masters degree programs for nurses in Colorado and Wyoming.

The materials begin when Greenberg became the Founding Director of the University Without Walls [UWW] Program at Loretto Heights College in Denver, Colorado. She held that position from 1971 to 1979. UWW was a program in 13 public and private institutions of higher education across the country designed to expand access to the B.A. degree for a broad range of adult learners. UWW was an individualized baccalaureate program that offered academic credit based on contracted new learning in a variety of settings and on evaluated prior non-college learning based on skills and competencies gained outside college classrooms.

Since 1979, Greenberg has created and consulted with a wide variety of both state agencies and committees, private corporations, and, educational institutions. In 1991, she founded her own consulting and publishing firm, EMG and Associates.

The last project documented in this collection is Greenberg’s work from 1996 – 2002 with the Mountain and Plains Partnership [MAPP]. By then, technology was making it possible to bring education to the student rather than bringing the student to a site-specific campus. MAPP was a partnership of 16 higher education institutions and health-related agencies that provided online Masters degree programs to advanced practice health care providers in underserved rural and urban communities. Regis University was a participating MAPP partner.

Notable in the collection are the publications (books, pamphlets and single articles) both authored by Greenberg and about Greenberg’s research on the challenges, needs, and directions for education, especially as related to adult and experiential learning. The collection contains her unpublished presentations as a speaker to groups, as well as the official reports evaluating experiential learning programs and their outcomes, Her project files, document the studies and programs she created. Video tapes and DVDs, mostly from the early 1990s, discuss facets of education, especially the beginning of distance learning provided through interactive video and the Internet which was transmitted over broadband networks.

Although the emphasis of the collection is on Greenberg’s professional life in education, there are also autobiographical materials, such as her personal writings, which give insight into the new roles she played and saw other women playing, as they entered and re-entered an expanded, changing, and unfamiliar workforce.

This collection contains administrative files, presentations, reports, project files, books, publications, photographs, media, and press clippings.

Regis University Archivist

Profile Image
Elizabeth Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-964-3612
ecook@regis.edu
Send Email

Special Collections Coordinator

Profile Image
Gerald Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-458-4020
gcook@regis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip