Ku Klux Klan Collection

Scope and Content

 

 

 

Pamphlet from the Notarianni Political Collection showing Al Smith, the 1925 Catholic presidential candidate controlled by the Church.

 

 

Ku Klux Klan Collection

The collection is a contribution from several people documenting the Klan presence in Colorado., The materials detail what Klan membership promotes through its articles, pamphlets, and its membership oaths. The collection also includes a copy of the Klan directory for Denver, and some of the city offices held by members. There are names of candidates in the 1919 and 1926 Denver elections that either promote or reject the Klan policies. Lastly, there is a description of an event in 1926 at the College of the Sacred Heart [Regis College’s prior name] in which Klan violence was feared against the catholic students.

Regis University Archivist

Archives & Special Collections's picture
Archives & Special Collections
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. You can email us at library@regis.edu.
Contact:
Dayton Memorial Library
archives@regis.edu
 
Research Help Desk
303.458.4031
1.800.388.2366 x4031
library@regis.edu
Book a Librarian

Hours and Location

Regis University Archives and Special Collections is located on the fourth floor of Regis University Library. The collections do not circulate and may be accessed only in the Reading Room.

The Reading Room is open on Tuesdays from 10:00am- 12:00pm and Thursdays from 1:00pm – 3:00pm.

Drop ins are welcome during these hours, however patrons are strongly encouraged to book an appointment with the archivist ahead of time. Patrons that have not set an appointment are not guaranteed consultation with the archivist at time of arrival.

During academic interims and other University closures the reading room will be closed. Please contact Archives and Special Collections at 303.964.3612 or email archives@regis.edu with any questions.