The biographies and primary sources volume presents a collection of twenty-three biographies and primary sources---both text and photographs of artifacts---that provide detailed and focused views of the people of the early American civilizations, the artifacts they left behind, and the sources upon which the history of the early American civilizations are based.

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts

Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.

Written by contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present

In the most comprehensive atlas of Native American history and culture available, the story of the North American Indian is told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography. Organized by region, this encyclopedic reference details Indian tribes in these areas: beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances and animosities, key historical events, and more

From ancient rock drawings to todays urban living, the Native American Almanac: More Than 50,000 Years of the Cultures and Histories of Indigenous Peoples traces the rich heritage of indigenous people. It is a fascinating mix of biography, pre-contact and post-contact history, current events, Tribal Nations histories, enlightening insights on environmental and land issues, arts, treaties, languages, education, movements, and more

From its conception, this icon of 20th century urban architecture was designed to be, more than a repository, a space for reflection on the rich indigenous heritage of our multicultural nation. This important site houses archaeological and anthropological testimonies forged by multiple cultural groups over hundreds of years of history; At the same time, it pays tribute to the indigenous peoples of today's Mexico through a rich collection that rescues the uses, representations, expressions, knowledge and traditions that are the intangible heritage of the nation and a legacy that belongs to all humanity

Landing page for the free download of the book Art of Aztec Mexico: Treasures of Tenochtitlan by H. B. Nicholson with Eloise Quiñones Keber

The Museum is rich in collections from three of the ancient Middle and South American cultures whose conflicts with European societies were among the most dramatic and far-reaching. These collections are particularly strong in ceramics.

The collection managed by this department represents almost half of the total pieces conserved in the Museum, with more than 12,500 objects from different cultural areas and chronologies of the American continent .

The Denver Art Museum was one of the first art museums in the nation to collect Indigenous arts from North America. Today, we have over 18,000 objects by artists from over 250 Indigenous nations. The work encapsulates multiple artistic traditions from these cultures, and ranges from ancient times to the present.

The Chilean Museum of Pre-Columbian Art (Spanish: Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino) is an art museum dedicated to the study and display of pre-Columbian artworks and artifacts from Central and South America.

A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.

The Pre-Columbian Collection includes objects created during three thousand years of history in Mesoamerica, the Andes, and the Intermediate Area of Latin America. Its holdings of over seven hundred objects include stone sculpture, ceramics, architectural panels, small metal objects, and textiles. Selected objects from this collection are on exhibition in the Pre-Columbian Gallery designed by Philip Johnson.