This is the "Welcome" page of the "Dick Connor Papers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Regis University Library Renewals My Account Insite WebAdvisor WorldClass Regis University home Image Map

Dick Connor Papers  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.regis.edu/connor Print Guide Email Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

    Housekeeping Information

Provenance

The Dick Connor Papers were donated to the Regis University Archives and Special Collections through a gift from Mrs. Mary Kay Connor-Spieler, finalized in 2001. 

Restrictions

The entire collection is open for research use.

Ownership and Literary Rights

The The Dick Connor Papers are the physical property of Regis University Libraries. Permission to publish photgraphs of the collection must be obtained in writing from an officer of the Regis University Libraries.

Preferred Citaton

Dick Connor Papers, Archives and Special Collections, Regis University

Size

11 cartons,  2 oversize folios.

 

        Hours and Location

Tuesday - Friday

7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

All materials in Archives & Special Collections can be found on the 4th floor of Dayton Memorial Library, Room 401. All researchers are welcome; an appointment is advised. To ensure access to the Archives and Special Collections, contact Elizabeth Cook for an appointment.

 

Scope and Content

 

 

The focus of these papers is the career of Dick Connor as a sports writer.

There is an extensive collection of newspaper clippings of his columns from 1965-1992. Most of the clippings are from the Rocky Mountain News, or, the Denver Post, although there are a few clippings from other papers as well, such as, the newspapers he wrote for while in the Air Force in the mid 1950s. There are also copies of magazine articles written by Connor, manuscript drafts of short stories he wrote early in his life, as well as the printouts for a book he ghostwrote on Dan Reeves, as well as the printout drafts of some of his columns.

His wife, Mary Kay Connor, wrote a book about Connor featuring the columns by which he was known. Her book, its publicity, and the columns she reviewed are part of the manuscript series.

 There are a small number of photocopies of photographs from Connor’s boyhood through adult life, lent by the Connor family for an exhibit. Digitized copies of the original photographs are also available.

The collection contains the many get-well cards he received during his 2-year fight with cancer, as well as the condolence notes and memorial mass cards sent to his family after his death in 1992.

Finally, there is material in oversize folio #3 from an exhibit hosted by Regis University in the Dayton Memorial Library, Oct 1-31, 2001, honoring Dick Connor. The folio contains some of Connor’s newspaper columns enlarged for the exhibit, the labels, as well as photographs of the exhibit taken by Dick Golesh, Mary Kay Connor-Spieler’s brother-in-law.

Regis University Archivist

Profile Image
Elizabeth Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-964-3612
ecook@regis.edu
Send Email

Special Collections Coordinator

Profile Image
Gerald Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-458-4020
gcook@regis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip