This is the "Welcome" page of the "Armand William Forstall, S.J. Papers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Regis University Library Renewals My Account Insite WebAdvisor WorldClass Regis University home Image Map

Armand William Forstall, S.J. Papers  

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.regis.edu/forstall Print Guide Email Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

    Housekeeping Information

Provenance

The Armand William Forstall, S.J. Papers are owned by Regis University.

Restrictions

The entire collection is open for research use.

Ownership and Literary Rights

Permission to publish unpublished materials must be obtained in writing from an officer of the Regis University Libraries.

Preferred Citaton

The Armand William Forstall, S.J. Papers, Archives and Special Collections, Regis University

Size

6 cartons, 4 oversized items.

 

        Hours and Location

Tuesday - Friday

7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

All materials in Archives & Special Collections can be found on the 4th floor of Dayton Memorial Library, Room 401. All researchers are welcome; an appointment is advised. To ensure access to the Archives and Special Collections, contact Elizabeth Cook for an appointment.

 

Scope and Content

 Fr. A.W. Forstall in his lab at Regis College. The Wiechert seismograph is in the background.

The papers of Father Armand William Forstall, S.J. contain only a small amount of personal information about his family, childhood, and friends. Instead, the materials in this collection largely concern his academic life as both a student and as a teacher. There is also information about the assaying work he did in Colorado, and the correspondence he received from seismographic stations around the world detailing their measurements. There is correspondence about a patent to handle fabric, and the equations he supplied the Keuffel and Esser Company which enabled them to manufacture a log log slide rule in 1908. The collection includes many of his academic notebooks which he created during his schooling, as well as those he created while teaching mathematics, chemistry, and physics.

Some of his notebooks, photographs, letters, and memorabilia refer to his life in Europe and the early days of teaching in New Mexico, Massachusetts and Washington, D.C. The bulk of the collection, however, comes from 1904 – 1948 when he lived in Denver, CO. These notebooks are written in English, as are the newspaper clippings about his work, and the scientific articles on engineering devices that Fr. Forstall collected.

A related collection:

While teaching in Denver, CO at The College of the Sacred Heart , [which became Regis College in 1920 and Regis University after 1992,] Fr. Forstall collected a large display of rock samples. This geological collection was given to the Colorado School of Mines Geology Musem, in 2009.

Regis University Archivist

Profile Image
Elizabeth Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-964-3612
ecook@regis.edu
Send Email

Special Collections Coordinator

Profile Image
Gerald Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-458-4020
gcook@regis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip