This is the "Welcome" page of the "Ammon Hennacy Papers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Regis University Library Renewals My Account Insite WebAdvisor WorldClass Regis University home Image Map

Ammon Hennacy Papers  

Last Updated: Jun 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.regis.edu/hennacy Print Guide Email Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

    Housekeeping Information

Provenance

The Ammon Hennacy Papers were donated by Elliott Wager as a gift to the Peace and Justice Program in Regis College, Regis University, Denver, CO.

The entire collection is open for research use.

Ownership and Literary Rights

The Ammon Hennacy Papers are the physical property of Regis University Library. Permission to publish unpublished materials from the collection must be obtained in writing from an officer of the Regis University Libraries.

Preferred Citaton

The Ammon Hennacy Papers, Archives and Special Collections, Regis University.

Size

 1 Oversize box.

 

        Hours and Location

Tuesday - Friday

7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

All materials in Archives & Special Collections can be found on the 4th floor of Dayton Memorial Library, Room 401. All researchers are welcome; an appointment is advised. To ensure access to the Archives and Special Collections, contact Elizabeth Cook for an appointment.

 

Scope and Content

 

 

 Denver, c 1952 or 1953

      The Ammon Hennacy Papers were collected by Elliot Wager, during the course of his friendship with Hennacy.  The collection includes letters from Hennacy to Wager from 1942 – 1968, and an index of them, created by Wager.  In his letters, Hennacy describes his personal life, his writings, and his activism against institutional authorities.

       The collection also contains some protest pamphlets and leaflets written by Hennacy, copies of Hennacy’s articles in The Catholic Worker , and a signed copy of his book The Autobiography of a Catholic Anarchist.  There are two photographs of Hennacy , taken while visiting Wager in Denver, CO.

      There is a description of the Joe Hill House, founded by Ammon Hennacy and Mary Lathrop in 1961, and a brief chronology, created by Wager,  of events in Hennacy’s life.  Lastly, there is a spiral binder containing both the memorial tributes to Ammon Hennacy  printed in The February 1970 issue of The Catholic Worker, as well as excerpts of some of his best-known articles.

 

 

Regis University Archivist

Profile Image
Elizabeth Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-964-3612
ecook@regis.edu
Send Email

Special Collections Coordinator

Profile Image
Gerald Cook
Contact Info
Dayton Memorial Library
Room 401
303-458-4020
gcook@regis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip