Vatican Stamp Collection

Scope and Content

Scope and Content

The Vatican Stamp Collection is presented in 5 ring-binders [Books 1 – 5] published by two companies which sequentially offer a complete set of stamps from 1929 – 2014.

Minkus Vatican City, Scott Publishing Company, OH presents the stamp issues from 1929  to Christmas 2003. 

White Ace, the Washington Press, NJ. presents stamps from 2004 through 2014

The change in publishers occurs in the 4th ring-binder and the pagination jumps from page 206 to 244. This is only a gap in page numbers; the set remains chronologically complete.

The collection begins in 1929 with stamps recognized as valid postage and issued solely by the Vatican City. The subject matter on the stamps is diverse, such as human concerns of war, disease, and poverty, as well as celebrations of genius and the natural environment.

Of course, many stamps focus on the Catholic Church - its history, saints, popes, and martyrs, as well as many as artworks owned by the Vatican [paintings, sculptures, parks, and architecture.]

The Popes Elected From 1958 - 2013

Pope Francis:                   March 13, 2013

                                            

Pope Benedict XVI:         April 19, 2005 - Feb 28, 2013

                                              

Pope John Paul II:           Oct 16, 1978 – April, 2005

                                                       

Pope John Paul I:             Aug 26 – Sept 28, 1978

Pope Paul VI:                    June 21, 1963 – Aug 6, 1978

Pope John XXIII:              Oct 28, 1958 – June 3, 1963

                                                      

                                                                                    

Regis University Archivist

Archives & Special Collections's picture
Archives & Special Collections
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. You can email us at library@regis.edu.
Contact:
Dayton Memorial Library
archives@regis.edu
 
Research Help Desk
303.458.4031
1.800.388.2366 x4031
library@regis.edu
Book a Librarian

Hours and Location

Regis University Archives and Special Collections is located on the fourth floor of Regis University Library. The collections do not circulate and may be accessed only in the Reading Room.

The Reading Room is open on Tuesdays from 10:00am- 12:00pm and Thursdays from 1:00pm – 3:00pm.

Drop ins are welcome during these hours, however patrons are strongly encouraged to book an appointment with the archivist ahead of time. Patrons that have not set an appointment are not guaranteed consultation with the archivist at time of arrival.

During academic interims and other University closures the reading room will be closed. Please contact Archives and Special Collections at 303.964.3612 or email archives@regis.edu with any questions.