Open Internet Collections
- Yale School of Law -- Avalon ProjectDigital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government, back to 4000bce.
- C-SPAN Video LibraryHere you'll find C-SPAN programs by frequently searched categories, a selection of most popular searches, some well-received "fast finds", and a look into the archive at the most popular programs (by online views) for each day of the year. To customize your search of the C-SPAN Video Library, please type a keyword, a name, the organization or congressional bill you're seeking, into the search box near the top of any page on C-SPAN.org.
- FOIA/CIA reading roomHere you can view documents released through the FOIA and other CIA release programs. If you would like to view our previously released documents and collections, visit the Historical Collections page to Browse the Collections, which includes links to all collections previously found on the CREST: 25-Year Program Archive and Freqeuently Requested Records pages, as well as individual collections of documents on historically significant topics compiled by our office.
- The Miller CenterThe Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history, providing critical insights for the nation's governance challenges.
- The American Presidency ProjectNon-profit and non-partisan, the APP is the source of presidential documents on the internet. Our archives also contain data related to Midterm Elections, U.S. Party Platforms (from 1840), Statements of Administration Policy, White House Press Briefing Transcripts, and Presidential Debate transcripts. We are hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
- The National Security ArchiveThe National Security Archive organizes its main research activities through projects that focus on U.S. policy toward specific geographic regions, significant historical episodes, or topics of broad interest in the areas of foreign affairs or national security. We choose projects based on their expected contribution to public understanding of either a particular subject or the U.S. policy process in general, especially if there's a likelihood of breaking free important new records (chiefly through the Freedom of Information Act).
Collections at Regis
- Notarianni Political CollectionThe collection of presidential campaign memorabilia spans the presidency of John Adams, 1796 to the Obama- McCain campaign of 2008. In addition to campaign items of successful presidential candidates, the collection also includes hopefuls who threw their hat in the ring but were not chosen to represent their parties.The range of memorabilia is broad, such as buttons, broaches, silk lapel ribbons, walking sticks, banners, license plates, dinner ware, jewelry, pharmaceuticals, lithographs, posters, and a variety of household items.
Federal Depository Library Program
Regis University has been a selective depository for federal government documents since 1915. Housed in the library, these U.S. government publications are excellent sources for statistical information and authoritative studies.
The depository covers a wide range of topics, including federal departments and agencies, museums, published reports from federal offices, texts of hearings or proceedings, statistics, periodicals, handbooks and bibliographies. Selection is made on the basis of support of the curriculum and research needs and with some regard for the needs of special borrowers whom the library serve as one of the depositories of Colorado's 1st Congressional District.
Regis University selects approximately 29 percent of all published government documents, with emphasis on materials published by the departments of Commerce, Education, Health and Human Services, and Labor. Regis University also selectively collects Colorado state government documents.
Most of the physical government documents can be found on the first floor of the library. A growing number of documents are only available electronically. Bibliographic and citation information can be found through Lumen, the library catalog. Choose "Government Documents" in the drop-down menu to the right of the search box.
US Government Online
- GovInfoGovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- USAGovUSAGov is the official guide to government information and services. Has links for voting, taxes, social services, and more.
- The SenateExplore the Senate’s Constitutional foundations, its unique role in America’s governmental system, and its rich history.
- House of RepresentativesAs per the Constitution, the U.S. House of Representatives makes and passes federal laws. The House is one of Congress’s two chambers (the other is the U.S. Senate), and part of the federal government’s legislative branch.
- CongressCongress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the general public.
- Supreme CourtThe Court is the highest tribunal in the Nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution or the laws of the United States. As the final arbiter of the law, the Court is charged with ensuring the American people the promise of equal justice under law and, thereby, also functions as guardian and interpreter of the Constitution.
- The Federal CourtsFederal courts hear cases involving the constitutionality of a law, cases involving the laws and treaties of the U.S. ambassadors and public ministers, disputes between two or more states, admiralty law, also known as maritime law, and bankruptcy cases.
- State GovernmentsFind out how to contact your state or territory, its governor, and major state agencies.
International Resources
- United Nations DocumentsThe United Nations has been publishing documents since its founding. At one time, the printing presses of the Organization ran 24 hours a day to keep up with the UN's publishing needs. Most documents are now only published electronically. UN documents include resolutions from legislative bodies, such as the General Assembly, Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council, which often contain a work mandate to be carried out by the UN Secretariat, or the UN system. Additionally, reports of the UN Secretary-General assess the state of the Organization and announce new work initiatives. Access to cases and rulings by the International Court of Justice, the main judicial body of the UN, is also available. On this website, you can search for meeting records, summaries of conferences, UN reports, treaties, maps, yearbooks and more.
- European Union ArchivesThe EU has a unique setup of institutions, bodies and agencies who all work for the common interests of the EU and European people. The HAEU preserves and makes accessible for research the archives deposited by EU institutions according to the thirty-year rule governing access to archival material. It also collects and preserves private papers of individuals, movements and international organisations involved in European integration.
- Purdue University International Governments GuideComprehensive guide from Purdue University librarian, Bert Chapman, detailing foreign governments and courts. Arranged alphabetically.
- United Nations ArchivesThe UN Archives Geneva platform gives access to the fonds and collections managed by the United Nations Library and Archives in Geneva, including the archives of the United Nations in Geneva, the League of Nations (1919-1946), international peace movements (from 1870), and private papers.
Library Databases
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowOpen access reports on homeland security and emergency preparedness including border security, pandemics, natural disasters, and cyber security. The White House, Congress, Defense, GAO, CDC, FEMA, and think tanks have authored these documents.
- Historical Statistics of the U.S. This link opens in a new windowA source for the statistics of American history, Historical Stats arranges the data by population; work and welfare; economic structure and performance; economic sectors; and government and international relations.
- HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite This link opens in a new windowA growing suite of databases that includes Slavery in America and the World, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, Civil Rights and Social Justice, Open Society Justice Initiative, LGBTQ+ Rights databases.
- Women’s Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977 This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 54,111 documents from the Gerald R. Fold Presidential Library.
- Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 87,391 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
- Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 88,021 documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
- The Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993 This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 11,657 documents from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library.
- The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 14,195 documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
- James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 8,792 documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.
- We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of 4,285 documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.