Guides: Health Care Master Research Guide: Books & Catalogs

Lumen Classic, the Library Catalog

Use Lumen, the Regis Library catalog, to find books, electronic books, DVDs, and more.

Prospector Catalog

Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.

Electronic book collections

Books 24x7
Please log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.

Each title is also cataloged in Lumen with a hot link.
Credo Reference
Credo contains 410 reference dictionaries and handbooks in all subject areas. You’ll find entries for words, concepts, phenomena, quotes, figures, formulae, or historical or cultural events. Subjects range broadly over the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and foreign languages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This is a great place to begin for research in humanities, social sciences, health, education, religion, business, biography, art, or law. GVRL has the multi-volume Dictionary of American History, Business Plans Handbook, and complete encyclopedias of Education, Sociology, Mental Health, Philosophy, Religion, Judaism and Catholicism.

Additional search help is available at: https://solutions.cengage.com/gale-training/materials/tip-sheets/
National Academies Press (NAP)
NAP publishes the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. NAP offers more than 4,000 titles on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book, with some exceptions.

Google Books

Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy

The Merck Manual for Consumer version is written in simpler language and is intended for patients, caregivers, and anyone interested in learning about health conditions. The Consumer edition is open access, and has easy-to-understand explanations of diseases and conditions, including symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment options.

Merck Manual Professional Edition
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. The manuals are open access, and are the product of a collaboration between hundreds of medical experts worldwide, an independent editorial board of peer reviewers, and an editorial staff of physicians and professional medical writers.