Rehabilitative and Health Sciences Research Guide

C2 has two parts for evidence-based information in the social sciences: C2-RIPE for evidenced-based reviews in education, criminology, and social welfare; and SPECTR, a database of many research trials in education, criminology, and psychology.

CINAHL is the professional source for full-text articles from journals in nursing and allied health. It also has citations and abstracts for many additional journals. Other publication types included are relevant legal cases, clinical innovations and trials, and citations to dissertations in nursing. CINAHL Headings help define search terms.

Considered the “gold standard” for evidence-based practice, Cochrane Library is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (“Reviews”), which has full-text evidence-based reviews of health care practices and treatments. Additional databases that are not full-text: abstracts of systematic reviews, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and citations to clinical trials.

A clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care, with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. Mobile access is available, see instructions here.

The largest index of medical literature, MEDLINE has citations and abstracts from more than 5,400 journals worldwide. The citations link to full-text in our other databases, where available. The MeSH subject headings help in selecting the best search terms.

Provides graded and reliable evidence-based information on alternative and complementary treatments including herbal remedies, dietary supplements, natural products and integrative therapies.

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. See PubMed User Guide for more information.

UpToDate is a clinical decision support resource designed for use at the point of care. The web-based program includes more than 11,600 searchable topics in 25 specialties, more than 185 medical calculators, and a select drug database and drug interactions tool that cover over 6,300 adult, pediatric, and international drug topics. All users are required to create an individual account with UpToDate. Please see the Registration Guide for directions on how to complete registration.