Environmental Science Research Guide

Predicts changes in climate, weather, ocean, and coasts, shares that knowledge and information with others, and conserves and manages coastal and marine ecosystems and resources.

Protects human health and the environment, and often sets national standards that states and tribes enforce through their own regulations.

Provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management.

Addresses U.S. energy, environmental, and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.

Protects and manages the Nation’s natural resources and cultural heritage; provides scientific and other information about those resources; and honors its trust responsibilities or special commitments to American Indians, Alaska Natives, and affiliated Island Communities.

Conserves, protects, and enhances fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats.

Sustains the health, diversity, and productivity of the Nation’s forests and grasslands.

Provides science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods, the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on, the health of our ecosystems and environment, and the impacts of climate and land-use change.

A federal program mandated by Congress to coordinate federal research and investments in understanding the forces shaping the global environment, both human and natural, and their impacts on society.

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the United Nations body for assessing science related to climate change.

A global authority that sets the environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system, and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment.

Strengthens and advances Colorado agriculture; promotes a safe and high-quality food supply; protects consumers; and fosters responsible stewardship of the environment and natural resources.

Manages and conserves Colorado’s natural resources and works to balance development with conservation.

Provides public health and environmental protection services. Includes multiple environmental divisions and offices.

Also known as the Office of the State Engineer, DWR administers and regulates water usage, and maintains numerous databases of Colorado water information.

Focuses on reducing greenhouse gas emissions and consumer energy costs by advancing clean energy, energy efficiency and zero emission vehicles.

Regulates the development and production of the natural resources of oil and gas in Colorado in a manner that protects public health, safety, welfare, the environment, and wildlife resources.

Perpetuates the wildlife resources of the state, provides a quality state parks system, and provides outdoor recreation opportunities.

Provides technical forestry assistance, wildfire mitigation expertise and outreach, and education to help landowners and communities achieve their forest management goals.