Guides: Alumni Resources for Health Care: Evidence-Based Practice

Recommended Web Sites

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Evidence-Based Practice Reports
Summaries and full text reports of evidence-based information on health care outcomes, quality, cost, use, and access.

Campbell Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
C2 has two parts for evidence-based information in the social sciences: C2-RIPE for evidenced-based reviews in education, criminology, and social welfare; and SPECTR, a database of many research trials in education, criminology, and psychology.

ClinicalTrials.gov
From the National Library of Medicine, this site allows consumers to search for information on the latest clinical trials through keyword searching or by browsing by condition.
Knowledge Translation KT+
PEDro
The physiotherapy evidence-based database.
SUMSearch
Meta-search engine from the University of Texas Health Sciences Center in Austin that finds medical evidence from PubMed/MEDLINE, Cochrane's DARE, and other reputable sources. It uses filters and contingency searches to help extract the evidence.

Cochrane Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Systematic Reviews are the gold standard for evidence-based medicine. This is the free, abbreviated version of the Cochrane Library. Abstracts are included that give the recommendations from the systematic reviews but the detailed full-text summaries are not free.
PubMed
Huge database that indexes the medical literature and contains some links to full-text articles. MEDLINE is a subset of PubMed.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly journal articles and books. Some of the items have links to full text. If items are not available full-text, they can often be purchased online.