Description
Knowledge of the world was based on holy scripture during the Middle Ages in Europe. The Renaissance reintroduced translations of classical texts describing direct observations of the natural world. By the Enlightenment, there was a split between knowledge based on science versus explanations based on faith. Special Collections contains limited but pertinent holdings that document these enriching challenges to human understanding.
Frontispage to The Historie of the World in Five Books, by Sir Walter Raleigh, 1614. Regis owns the 11th edition, printed in 1736 which includes a biography of his life by "Mr. Olys" and a transcript of Raleigh’s trial and conviction.
A scientific laboratory from The Histoire Naturelle, Generale et Particuliere, by George louis Leclerc, comte de Buffon, 1746.
Identifying Materials
Search the library catalog,
Lumen, to identify materials Regis University Archives has in this area.
Using the Advanced Keyword search option, you can limit your search to items found in our Archives/Special Collections area. Select "Special Collections" in the drop down box marked "limit to" on the Advanced Keyword search screen in Lumen.
Since the materials in the Archives is not allowed out of the building, items located in Special Collections in Lumen display the statement "No copies available for checkout." The location for these items is "4th Floor Special."
Here are some suggested searches you may want to use. Click on the links below and a window will open with the search results from Lumen.
Pliny or Hume or Leclerc or Raleigh