Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing Analytically: Big Bangs in Twentieth Century Music (Notareschi): Books

A guide to library research

  Music Reference Books

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians; available in print at call number REF  ML 100 .N48 2001 (29 vols.)
The definitive guide for researching all areas of music including biograpies, musical styles, etc.

The Oxford History of Western Music: available in print at call number REF ML 160 .T18 2005 (6 vols.). Includes Origins to the sixteenth century -- The seventeenth and eighteenth centuries -- The nineteenth century -- The early twentieth century -- The late twentieth century -- Chronology, bibliography,  and master index.

.The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz : available in print at REF ML 102.J3 N48 2001 (3 vols) Includes bibliographical references (v. 3, p. 1031-1079) and discographies.

Lumen, the Library Catalog

Use Lumen, the Regis Library catalog, to find books, electronic books, DVDs, and more.

For materials on Early Jazz, do a subject search with the below phrases:

  • Jazz History and Criticism
  • Jazz Musicians
  • Jazz Musicians United States Biography
 

Prospector Catalog

Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.

The same subject searches that work in the Regis catalog (see above) will work here.

Other Catalogs

WorldCat
Search for books and other materials worldwide.

Other catalogs
Local academic and public libraries, partner libraries, AJCU libraries, and other resources.

Google Books

Google Book Search

OXford Music Online

Electronic Book Collections

Credo Reference

A ready reference source with 2+ million entries from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

An online collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, and consumer health references. Subjects covered include the arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, and social science.