Lois Beebe Hayna Papers

   "This is a cautionary tale. If you want your life to include writing or painting or any of the vocations which don’t produce a paycheck, nobody’s going to make it easy for you. Nobody’s even going to take you seriously until after you’ve somehow done it." - Lois Beebe Hayna

Scope and Content

   The collection begins with poetry from Hayna's college days, and a play that she co-authored during her first teaching job in the 1930's. The collection also contains essays and short stories she wrote in the 1970's – 1980's. Of significance is a very comprehensive collection of her poems from the 1970's to the present.

   Also among her writing are drafts for an unpublished book on herbs, entitled The Casual Herbist, as well as her notes on herbs and a bibliography. While researching this book Hayna had a brief correspondence with Waverley Root, a noted writer about food.

  The collection contains correspondence, rejection and acceptance letters to Hayna from publishers, citations for her numerous awards, publications that include her works, clippings, flyers for poetry programs, and photographs of Hayna and members of the Hayna Writers, a group for poets that she started in 1974.

Archives staff are located in DML 104.

All archives and collections are non-circulating and are accessible by appointment only. 

Patrons that have not set an appointment are not guaranteed consultation with Archives staff.

Before visiting please submit a research request via the research request form. Walk-in researchers are not guaranteed access to archival and collection materials. 

Phone: 303.964.3612 Email: archives@regis.edu.