Authorship process
Choosing where to submit your work for publication can be confusing. Establishing yourself as a strong researcher requires submitting your work for publication to reputable, peer reviewed academic journals and conferences in your discipline. Things to consider include the journal's scope, any restrictions it imposes on manuscript types or topics, and various metrics used to gauge the journal's impact.
-
Think.Check.Submit.From their site: Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.
-
Association of University PressesThis global community of university-based publishers strives for academic excellence and the open sharing of knowledge. Use their Author resources to locate the right publishing venue for your work.
Journal and Article Metrics
One of the ways you can determine if a journal is right for your work is to use a variety of metrics. Citation counts, h-index, and journal impact factor (JIF) are common ways to track important numbers.
Citation counts: One way to measure an article's impact is to see how many times it has been cited. This is not foolproof, as some disciplines cite more than others and each database uses different parameters for their counts. You can also check metrics on an entire journal.
In Google Scholar there are two ways to check metrics. See their list of publications here, or use the Cited By tab to get a rough count and list of who has cited that item.
The database ScienceDirect provides metrics for all articles and journal titles. See Metrics for article titles by searching, and using the Article Metrics box on the right of the page.
To see journal metrics, search a title or click on the link from the article. Select View All Insights, to get various metrics.
-
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes the full-text for over 1,600 Elsevier journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine. Over 6.5 million articles are available from all fields of science. Full-text is available from 1995 for most journals, however, a full-text for a sub-set of the titles begins in 1993.
The h-Index, or Hirsch index, is a measure of an author's (or group of authors' or journal's) scholarly impact. The h-index reflects both the number of publications and the number of citations per publication. An author with an h-index=6 has at least 6 papers that have each been cited 6 times.
Make a free account with Web of Science to see their Master Journal List. Along with h-index, WofS, can provide an author profile and your individual metrics.
Google Scholar Metrics has h-Index numbers as well. To get started, browse the top 100 publications ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics.
-
Google Scholar MetricsChoose your discipline from the drop down and see h-factors for various titles.
There are various ways to find the Journal Impact Factor. You can determine this measure using the formula:
Journal Impact Factor = (Citations in Year X to articles from Year X-1 and X-2) / (Number of citable items published in Year X-1 and X-2)
You can review more about JIF at the article here.
(Image credit: https://library.seg.org/doi/10.1190/INT-2018-0417-FE.1)
-
EigenfactorEigenfactor is a journal metrics project through the West Lab at the Information School and the Bergstrom Lab in the Department of Biology at the University of Washington. From their site: We aim to use recent advances in network analysis to develop novel methods for evaluating the influence of scholarly periodicals, for mapping the structure of academic research, and for helping researchers navigate the scholarly literature
Capstone Information
Once you create your capstone and submit it to LHSON, you can complete the form here to submit a copy to the Regis Archives.
If you experience issues with the form, please contact the Archives at archives@regis.edu.