Guides: Family History & Genealogy Resources: Newspapers

Newspaper Sources

Online newspapers are available from a number of sources, including ancestry.com. In Colorado, you will find a large collection of historic Colorado newspapers h ere. These newspapers are digitized. In addition, Regis Library, the Denver Public Library and others house a great collection of newspapers that are accessible through databases, microfilm and print. See the links below for options.

See Your Guide to Using Newspapers for Genealogical Research for tips and ideas.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
American Newspapers, 1821-1936 : A Union List of Files Available in the United States and Canada
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress
Colorado Historic Newspapers
A service of the Colorado State Library, the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 1.8 million digitized pages, representing more than 400 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 up to 2019. Due to copyright restrictions, the CHNC does not always include newspapers published after 1924, but the CHNC can digitize beyond 1924 if publisher permission can be secured. And best of all the CHNC can be browsed and searched for free!
Denver Public Library: Newspapers
Newspapers such as the Denver Post and Rocky Mountain News housed available through the Western History and genealogy collection.
New York Times Backfile
This is the searchable archive of the Times from 1851-2009. The Adobe Acrobat images include headlines, features, notices, letters, and ads.
Old Fulton New York Postcards Newspapers
Search over 47,059,000 Old Newspaper pages from US & Canada. This has a very basic page and search menu.
Rowell's and Ayer's Newspaper Directory
Papers available through several repositories from 1869-1922.