Skip to main content

Jesuitica Collection: Welcome

Housekeeping Information

Provenance

The Jesuitica Collection includes both purchases and gifts to the Regis University Archives and Special Collections.

Restrictions

The entire collection is open for research use.

Ownership and Literary Rights

The Jesuitica Collection is the physical property of Regis University Libraries. Permission to publish copyrighted materials from the Jesuitica Collection is the responsibility of the researcher.

Use of unpublished material must be obtained in writing from an officer of the Regis University libraries.

Preferred Citaton

The Jesuitica Collection, Archives and Special Collections, Regis University

        Hours and Location

Tuesday - Friday

7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

All materials in Archives & Special Collections can be found on the 4th floor of Dayton Memorial Library, Room 401. All researchers are welcome; an appointment is advised. To ensure access to the Archives and Special Collections, contact Elizabeth Cook for an appointment.

Scope and Content

 

The Jesuitica Collection includes publications and manuscripts documenting Jesuit, Catholic, and Colorado history in the southwest.

Jesuitica Publications

The Jesuitica Collection contains publications of the Catholic presence in the Southwest.

Jesuitica publications are catalogued in LUMEN, the online catalog of the Regis University Library.

Items located in Special Collections listed in LUMEN display the statement "No copies available for checkout." These items are non-circulating, library use only. These items listed as "4th Floor Special" are located in the Archives and Special Collection on the 4th floor.

Some highlights of the publications in the Jesuitica Collection are:

Acta sanctorum quotquot toto orbe coluntur : vel a catholicis scriptoribus celebrantur / quæ ex Latinis et Græcis, aliarumque gentium antiquis monumentis collegit, digessit, notis illustravit Joannes Bollandus ... ; servata primagenia scriptorum phrasi ; operam et studium contulit Godefridus Henschenius... From Parisiis : Apud Victorem Palme.

Archivum Historicum Societatis Iesu. From Romae, Institutum Scriptorum de Historia S.I.

Arnold Vinnii...Jurisprudentiae contractae, sive partitonum Juris Civilis, libri quatuor, variis observationibus, ad usum forensem accommodatis illustrati.. By Arnoldus Vinnius. From Lugduni, sumptibus Petri Bruyset & Sociorum, 1748.

Bibliothèque de la Compagnie de Jésus. 1: ptie.: Bibliographie par les pères Augustin et Aloys de Backer. 2. ptie.: Histoire par le père Auguste Carayon. By Augustin de Backer. From Bruxelles, O. Schepens; Paris, A. Picard.

Commentarius in Sacram Scripturam, duobus tomis comprehensus: primo quidem, post varia prolegomena, Vetus ferè Testamentum ; altero, duodecim Prophetae minores, Machabaeorum liber uterque, ac Novum Testamentum explanatur. By Jacobus Tirinus. From Venetiis : J.M. Ruinetti, 1704.

I Gesuiti nel Napoletano : note ed appunti di storia contemporanea da documenti inediti e con larghe illustrazioni 1814-1914. By Michele Volpe. From Napoli : Tipografia editrice Pontificia M. d'Auria.

The Jesuit relations and allied documents; travels and explorations of the Jesuit missionaries in North America, 1610-1791.

Monumenta Novae Franciae. By Lucien Campeau. From Roma, Monumenta Hististorical Soceity of Jesus.

Records of the English province of the Society of Jesus : historic facts illustrative of the labours and sufferings of its members in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. By Henry Foley. From London : Burns and Oates, 1877-1883.

Revista Católica. From Las Vegas, N.M. : Imprensa del Rio Grande.

The University of Santa Clara : a history, 1851-1977. By Gerald McKevitt. From Stanford University Press.

Woodstock Letters. From Woodstock College Press.

Jesuitica Manuscripts

The unpublished manuscripts, itemized in the Manuscript Container List below, document the Jesuit mission in the Southwest. Materials are located in the Archives and Special Collection on the 4th floor of the library. These items are non-circulating, library use only.

Regis University Archivist

Elizabeth Cook
Contact:
University Archivist
Dayton Memorial Library, 401
303.964.3612
ecook@regis.edu