Guides: Biological Sciences Research Guide: Articles and Research

Article Databases

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This source provides indexing and abstracts for 6,000 sources in biomedicine, biotechnology, toxicology, zoology, ecology and agriculture. Companion indexes include Biology Digest, Medline 1999-present and Toxline in a rolling 5-year index.
Additional search help is available at: http://proquest.libguides.com/databaseguides
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. See PubMed User Guide for more information.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the full-text for over 1,600 Elsevier journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine. Over 6.5 million articles are available from all fields of science. Full-text is available from 1995 for most journals, however, a full-text for a sub-set of the titles begins in 1993.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
The academic side of Google is here, retrieving articles, chapters, books, and reports from university presses and other sources. Books out of copyright are here in full text. From the Settings, select "Library Links" to add Regis and see “Full Text @ My Library” among your search results.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This environmental resource has citations and selected full text, for scholarly, government and general-interest publications concerning the impact of humans on the physical environment.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide
USDA National Agricultural Library This link opens in a new window
This life sciences database, compiled by the National Agricultural Library, indexes literature in agriculture, natural resources, the environment, food and nutrition since 1979.
Additional search help is available at: https://agricola.nal.usda.gov/help/quicksearch.html
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Chemical Abstracts is now available via SciFinder Scholar. This database covers a variety of scientific disciplines, including Agriculture Science, Biology and Life Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Food Sciences, General Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Material Sciences, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Polymer Science. Access now includes the substructure module.

AGRIS
Sponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nation, this database contains information on agricultural science and technology papers, data, statistics, and multimedia materials.
EcoTox
ECOTOX is a source for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Article citations and detailed abstracts of articles from over 2,000 journals published internationally in all areas of psychology from 1872 to the present. Links to full-text articles from PsycARTICLES and Academic Search Premier.
Additional search help is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/EBSCO_Guides/EBSCO_Interfaces_User_Guide

PubAg
PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and Extension education.
TOXLINE
TOXLINE is a bibliographic database with an assortment of citations from specialized journals and other sources. It provides references covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Most of TOXLINE's bibliographic citations contain abstracts and/or indexing terms and Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) Registry Numbers. TOXLINE references date from the 1840s to the present. New ones are added weekly.

Top Journals

Access Nature
The international weekly journal of science. Search for full text articles, jobs, news and research.

Annual Review of ... This link opens in a new window
Full-text annual reviews from the areas of biochemistry; biophysics; ecology, evolution and systematics; genomics and human genetics; medicine; microbiology; neuroscience; physiology; psychology; physical chemistry; anthropology; and sociology.

BioMed Central
BMC publishes 300 peer-reviewed journals, from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. BMC offers open access publishing which allows free distribution of and access to published articles.
Cell Press Journals
Cell Press publishes research and review journals on the topics of cell biology, medicine and plant science. Articles are available through Elsevier.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals. Its goal is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
Ecology (the journal)
Find full-text articles in the journal "Ecology."Click on the "Ecology" box, the click on the Advanced Search link near the upper right side of the next page. Once you are at Advanced Search use the pull-down menu on the right to search only the journal "Ecology."
PLOS: Public Library of Science
PLOS is a multidisciplinary open access journal that reports on original research from all disciplines within science and medicine.
PubMed Central
PMC is a free full-text repository of biomedical and life science literature available through the National Library of Medicine.