Start Your Research
Library Databases
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis source provides indexing and abstracts for 6,000 sources in biomedicine, biotechnology, toxicology, zoology, ecology and agriculture. Companion indexes include Biology Digest, Medline 1999-present and Toxline in a rolling 5-year index.
- IBISWorld's Industry Market Research This link opens in a new windowAccess includes Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, Industry Risk Rating Reports, Specialized Super Niche Reports, and iExpert Summaries.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowCombines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface. Includes international business intelligence, company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, periodicals, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBSC contains articles from scholarly journals, trade journals, and news sources. It covers all areas of business and management. In addition there are company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry reports, market research reports, and country reports.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowThe academic side of Google is here, retrieving articles, chapters, books, and reports from university presses and other sources. Books out of copyright are here in full text. From the Settings, select "Library Links" to add Regis and see “Full Text @ My Library” among your search results.
- SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new windowChemical Abstracts is now available via SciFinder Scholar. This database covers a variety of scientific disciplines, including Agriculture Science, Biology and Life Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Food Sciences, General Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Material Sciences, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Polymer Science. Access now includes the substructure module.
Library Research Guides
Use these guides for subject specific resources and detailed information.
Books on Brewing---Available through the Library
Mastering Brewing Science by
With a focus on brewing science and quality control, this textbook is the ideal learning tool for working professionals or aspiring students. Mastering Brewing Science is a comprehensive textbook for the brewing industry, with coverage of processes, raw materials, packaging, and everything in between, including discussion of essential methods in quality control and assurance. The book equips readers with a depth of understanding to deal with problems and issues that arise during production of beer from start to finish, as well as statistical tools for continual quality improvement. Brewery operations, raw material analysis, flavor, stability, cleaning, and methods of quality control, as well as the underlying science, are discussed in detail. The successful brewing professional must produce beer with high standards of quality, consistency, efficiency, and safety. With a focus on quality and on essential applications of biology, chemistry, and process control, Mastering Brewing Science emphasizes development of the reader's trouble-shooting and problem-solving skills. It is the ideal learning tool for all brewing programs or as a resource for current industry professionals. Features of this book include: Comprehensive understanding through application. Presented in the logical order of the brewing process. All key principles of science are applied to beer production, facilitating a better understanding of both. Check for understanding and problem solving. Each chapter includes a set of problems, questions, and case studies that reinforce understanding of the material. Richly illustrated. Hundreds of unique, full-color illustrations, ranging from micrographs of spoilage bacteria to the inner workings of a beer keg, supplement clearly-written text, making this book easy to understand and appealing to the reader. Emphasis on Quality and Safety. Covers the underlying science and essential methods in quality control with discussion of data management and experimental statistics to ensure consistency in beer production. Safety notes for brewing operations prepare the reader for a culture of safety at the workplace. Glossary. A detailed and authoritative glossary sets the standard for beer and brewing terminology.
ISBN: 9781119456056Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Brewing Microbiology by
Research into brewing yeast and other organisms associated with beer and brewing has experienced many important advances in the past decade, propelled by technological advances in tools fundamental to the investigation of microbes and their metabolism.
This volume surveys the most recent discoveries in brewing microbiology, with an emphasis on omics techniques and other modern technologies. Discoveries in these areas have furthered our knowledge of brewing processes, with practical applications from barley growth and malting to yeast management, strain selection, fermentation control, and quality assurance. The chapters, written by experts in the field, aim not only to illuminate recent progress, but also to discuss its impact on brewing practices. Topics covered include the physiology, fermentation, taxonomy, diversity, typing, genetic manipulation, genomics and evolution of brewing yeasts. Further areas covered include the fungal contamination of barley and malt, spoilage by lactic acid bacteria and gram-negative bacteria, and beer-spoiling yeasts.
This volume is highly recommended for anyone involved in the microbiology of brewing.
ISBN: 9781910190623Publication Date: 2017-06-01
The Craft Brewing Handbook by
The Craft Brewing Handbook: A Practical Guide to Running a Successful Craft Brewery covers the practical and technical aspects required to set up and grow a successful craft brewing business. With coverage of equipment options, raw material choice, the brewing process, recipe development and beer styles, packaging, quality assurance and quality control, sensory evaluation, common faults in beer, basic analyses, and strategies to minimize utilities, such as water and energy, this book is a one-stop shop for the aspiring brewer. The craft brewing sector has grown significantly around the world over the past decade. Many new breweries are technically naïve and have a thirst for knowledge. This book not only covers how to maximize the chances of getting production right the first time, it also deals with the inevitable problems that arise and what to do about them. Focuses on the practical aspects of craft brewing Features chapters on equipment choice, QA/QC and analyses, and beer styles Provides insights into successful breweries around the globe
ISBN: 9780081020906Publication Date: 2019-11-12
