Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RC220a - World Religious Traditions: Eastern: Home

ALERTS

Service Alert: Prospector requests will be unavailable Wednesday, February 16th 9pm - Thursday, February 17th 12noon.
LumenClassic will be unavailable from Thursday, February 17th 3:30am - 8:30am.

Recommended Resources for Eastern Religious Traditions

Reference

Books

Articles/Chapters

  • Narayanan, Vasudha. " Hinduism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 395-426.
  • Hiltebeitel, Alf. " Hinduism. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 3988-4009.
  • Vemsani, Lavanya. " Hinduism. " India Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic, edited by Arnold P. Kaminsky and Roger D. Long, vol. 1, ABC-CLIO, 2011, pp. 315-322

Reference

Books

Articles/Chapters

  • Reynolds, Frank E., and Charles Hallisey. " Buddhism: An Overview ." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 1087-1101
  • Kinnard, Jacob. " Buddhism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 55-84.
  • " Buddhism. " New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2010, edited by Robert L. Fastiggi, vol. 1, Gale, 2010, pp. 159-180
  • Hayes, Richard P. " Buddhism. " Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. Borchert, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 721-726

Streaming Media

Books

Articles/Chapters

  • Ching, Julia. " Confucius. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 1933-1937.
  • Jochim, Christian. " Confucianism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 365-394.
  • " Confucianism. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 1: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 151-176.
  • Csikszentmihalyi, Mark. " Confucianism: An Overview. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 1890-1905.

Books

Articles/Chapters

  • Ebersole, Gary. " Shinto. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 607-630.
  • Bocking, Brian. " Shintō. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 12, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 8356-8371.
  • " Shinto. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 2: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 393-417.

Books

Articles/Chapters

  • " Daoism. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 1: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 177-206
  • Bokenkamp, Stephen R. " Daoism: An Overview. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 2176-2192.
  • Hansen, Chad. " Chinese Philosophy: Daoism. " Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. Borchert, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 184-194.
  • Tan, J. Y. " Daoism (Taoism). " New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Gale, 2003, pp. 522-525.

Reference

Monographs

Articles/Chapters

  • Vallely, Anne. " Jainism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 517-541.
  • Dundas, Paul. " Jainism. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 4764-4772.
  • " Jainism. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 2: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 323-343.
  • Gupta, Asha. " Jainism. " Encyclopedia of India, edited by Stanley Wolpert, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006, pp. 323-326.

Reference

Monographs

Articles/Chapters

  • Singh, Pashaura. " Sikhism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 631-653.
  • Singh, Nikky-Guninder Kaur. " Sikhism. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 12, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 8393-8398.
  • " Sikhism. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 2: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 419-441.
  • Mandair, Arvind-Pal S. " Sikhism. " Encyclopedia of India, edited by Stanley Wolpert, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006, pp. 65-70.

General Reference

Africa

Books

Reference

North America

Reference

LumenPlus - Search for articles, books, media, and more...

More...

View the full version of the Regis Library's Religious Studies research guide for a complete list of resources and services.

Research Help

chat loading...

Research Help hours

 Email  Book a Librarian
 303.458.4031  800.388.2366 x4031

Library Services & Resources