Reference

• Jones, L. (2005).Encylopedia of Religion. (2nd ed.) Macmillan Reference USA.
• Wainwright, W. J. (2008). The Oxford handbook of philosophy of religion. Oxford University Press.
• Verkamp, B. J. (2012). Encyclopedia of philosophers on religion. McFarland & Co., Inc., Publishers.

Books

• Yandell, K. E. (2002). Philosophy of Religion : A Contemporary Introduction. Routledge.
• Oxford studies in philosophy of religion (multiple volumes)

Articles/Chapters

• Religion. (2006). In B. S. Turner (Ed.), Cambridge dictionary of sociology. Cambridge University Press.
• Goetz, J. (2003). Religion. In New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd ed., Vol. 12, pp. 56-64). Gale.
• Religion. (1968). In D. L. Sills (Ed.), International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (Vol. 13, pp. 398-421). Macmillan.

General Reference

• Indigenous Religions. (2007). In J. L. Carnagie, M. J. O'Neal, J. S. Jones, M. M. Means, N. Schlager, & J. Weisblatt (Eds.), World Religions Reference Library (Vol. 2, pp. 271-290).
• Keller, M. L. (2016). Indigenous Religion: From the Origins to the Future of Religious Studies. In J. J. Kripal (Ed.), Macmillan Interdisciplinary Handbooks. Religion: Sources, Perspectives, and Methodologies
• Grim, J. A. (2005). Ecology and Religion: Ecology and Indigenous Traditions. In L. Jones (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed., Vol. 4, pp. 2616-2620).
• Indigenous Religions. (2019). In S. J. De-Gaia (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Women in World Religions: Faith and Culture across History (Vol. 2, pp. 1-3)

Africa

Books

• William Ackah, Jualynne E. Dodson, & R. Drew Smith. (2018). Religion, Culture and Spirituality in Africa and the African Diaspora. Routledge.

Reference

• Cox, J. L. (2020). African religions. In A. Possamai, & A. J. Blasi (Eds.), The SAGE encyclopedia of the sociology of religion. Sage UK.
• Smythe, K. R. (2004). Religion, Colonial Africa: Indigenous religion. In K. Shillington (Ed.), Encyclopedia of African history. Routledge.
• Agang, S. B. (2008). African traditional religion. In W. A. Dyrness, & V. Kärkkäinen (Eds.), Global dictionary of theology. InterVarsity Press.
• Aderibigbe, I. S. (2010). Indigenous Traditions—Africa. In W. Jenkins & W. Bauman (Eds.), Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability (Vol. 1, pp. 209-212).
• Olupona, J. K., & Kunnie, J. E. (2015). African Indigenous Religions. In T. Riggs (Ed.), Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices (2nd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 1-28).

North America

Reference

• Kelley, D. F. (2005). North American Indian Religions: Mythic Themes. In L. Jones (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed., Vol. 10, pp. 6658-6664).
• Fogelson, R. D. (2005).North American [Indian] Religions: History of Study. In L. Jones (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed., Vol. 10, pp. 6668-6673).
• Nelson, M. K. (2010). Indigenous Traditions—North America. In W. Jenkins & W. Bauman (Eds.), Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability (Vol. 1, pp. 225-228)

Reference

• Encyclopedia of Hinduism
• Dictionary of Hindu lore and legend

Books

• Hindu Practice
• Hinduism and tribal religions
• On Hinduism
• Hinduism: A very short introduction
• The Bhagavad Gita

Articles/Chapters

• Narayanan, Vasudha. " Hinduism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 395-426.
• Hiltebeitel, Alf. " Hinduism. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 3988-4009.
• Vemsani, Lavanya. " Hinduism. " India Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic, edited by Arnold P. Kaminsky and Roger D. Long, vol. 1, ABC-CLIO, 2011, pp. 315-322

Reference

• Encyclopedia of Buddhism

Books

• The Buddha's teaching : a Buddhistic analysis
• Buddhism : a very short introduction
• Buddhism, the religion of no-religion
• The foundations of Buddhism

Articles/Chapters

• Reynolds, Frank E., and Charles Hallisey. " Buddhism: An Overview ." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 1087-1101
• Kinnard, Jacob. " Buddhism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 55-84.
• " Buddhism. " New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2010, edited by Robert L. Fastiggi, vol. 1, Gale, 2010, pp. 159-180
• Hayes, Richard P. " Buddhism. " Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. Borchert, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 721-726

Streaming Media

• The Buddha : a history of Buddhism

Reference

• The Encyclopedia of Indian Religions: Buddhism and Jainism

Monographs

• Jainism : a guide for the perplexed
• The Jains
• Open boundaries: Jain communities and culture in Indian history

Articles/Chapters

• Vallely, Anne. " Jainism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 517-541.
• Dundas, Paul. " Jainism. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 4764-4772.
• " Jainism. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 2: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 323-343.
• Gupta, Asha. " Jainism. " Encyclopedia of India, edited by Stanley Wolpert, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006, pp. 323-326.

Reference

• The Oxford handbook of Sikh studies

Monographs

• History, literature, and identity: four centuries of Sikh tradition

Articles/Chapters

• Singh, Pashaura. " Sikhism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 631-653.
• Singh, Nikky-Guninder Kaur. " Sikhism. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 12, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 8393-8398.
• " Sikhism. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 2: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 419-441.
• Mandair, Arvind-Pal S. " Sikhism. " Encyclopedia of India, edited by Stanley Wolpert, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006, pp. 65-70.

Books

• Confucianism as a world religion: Contested histories and contemporary realities
• Dao companion to classical Confucian philosophy
• Contemporary Confucianism in thought and action
• Foundations of Confucian thought: Intellectual life in the Chunqiu period (722-453 B.C.E.)

Articles/Chapters

• Ching, Julia. " Confucius. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 1933-1937.
• Jochim, Christian. " Confucianism. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 365-394.
• " Confucianism. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 1: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 151-176.
• Csikszentmihalyi, Mark. " Confucianism: An Overview. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 1890-1905.

Books

• Daoism: A guide for the perplexed
• Dao companion to Daoist philosophy
• The Tao Teh King, or, The Tao and its characteristics
• Taoism for dummies
• Lao-tzu and the Tao-te-ching

Articles/Chapters

• " Daoism. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 1: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 177-206
• Bokenkamp, Stephen R. " Daoism: An Overview. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 2176-2192.
• Hansen, Chad. " Chinese Philosophy: Daoism. " Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. Borchert, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 184-194.
• Tan, J. Y. " Daoism (Taoism). " New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Gale, 2003, pp. 522-525.

Books

• Shinto
• Shinto: A short history

Articles/Chapters

• Ebersole, Gary. " Shinto. " Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, edited by Thomas Riggs, 2nd ed., vol. 1: Religions and Denominations, Gale, 2015, pp. 607-630.
• Bocking, Brian. " Shintō. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 12, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 8356-8371.
• " Shinto. " World Religions Reference Library, edited by Julie L. Carnagie, et al., vol. 2: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 393-417.

Books

• Alitto, G. (2015). Contemporary Confucianism in thought and action. Springer.
• Elstein, D. (2021). Dao companion to contemporary Confucian philosophy. Springer.
• Fan, R., & Yu, E. (2011). The renaissance of Confucianism in contemporary China. Springer.
• Gleig, A. (2019). American dharma : Buddhism beyond modernity. Yale University Press.
• Horii, M., & Fitzgerald, T. (2018). The category of “religion” in contemporary Japan : shūkyō and Temple Buddhism. Palgrave Macmillan.
• Jerryson, M. K. (2016). Oxford handbook of contemporary Buddhism. Oxford University Press.
• Rajan, S.I., Varghese, V.J., & Nanda, A.K. (2016). Migration, mobility and multiple affiliations : Punjabis in a transnational world. Cambridge University Press.
• Rots, A. P. (2017). Shinto, nature and ideology in contemporary Japan : making sacred forests. Bloomsbury.
• Yao, X. (2017). Reconceptualizing Confucian philosophy in the 21st century. Springer.

Articles/Chapters

• Chan, K.-K. (2005). Religion in China in the twenty-first century: some scenarios. Religion, State & Society, 33(2), 87–119.
• Chappell, F. R. (2018). Negotiating Contemporary Hindu Beliefs and Practices in the United States. Religions of South Asia, 12(1), 78–99. https://doi.org/10.1558/rosa.37512
• Fohr, S. E. (2021). Conversations with Jains about interfaith dialogue and cooperation. The Journal of Interreligious Studies, 33, 24–39.
• Hardacre, H. (2004). Religion and civil society in contemporary Japan. Japanese Journal of Religious Studies, 31(2), 389–415.
• Liu, S., Berthrong, J., & Swidler, L. J. (2003). Contemporary Confucianism and Western culture. Journal of Ecumenical Studies, 40(1–2), 2–11.
• Powers, D. (2001). Buddhism and modernity: an ancient tradition faces the twenty-first century. Religion East & West, 1, 67–76.
• Priest, G. (2008). Jaina Logic: A Contemporary perspective. History and Philosophy of Logic, 29(3), 263–278.
• Ramlakhan, P., & Persaud, P. (2018). Contemporary expressions of Hinduism in the Indian diaspora of North America and the Caribbean: Introduction. Nidān, 3(1), i–v.
• Singh Chima, J. (2021). Introduction: Historical legacies, contemporary political dynamics, and future challenges of the SGPC and SAD at their centennial anniversary. Sikh Formations: Religion, Culture, Theory, 17(1/2), 1–15. https://doi.org/10.1080/17448727.2021.1939508
• Srivatsan, R. (March 23, 2019). Impasses around contemporary Hinduism. Economic & Political Weekly.
• US born Jains make ascetic faith fit modern life. (2013, August 24). The South Asian Times.