Middle Eastern Religion

“Religion: Middle East” from New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

Ancient Sumer

"Sumer" from Britannica Concise

Alternatives:

“Sumer” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Sumer” . In Facts on File, World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set, 1st ed.

History of Mesopotamia

Mesopotamia from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Mesopotamia” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

“Mesopotamia” ) In P. Lagasse & Columbia University, The Columbia Encyclopedia (8th ed.).

Canaan

"Canaan" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Canaan, Canaanites” In Macmillan Dictionary of the Bible (1st ed.).

"Judaism"In Global Dictionary of Theology (1st ed.).

Alternatives:

“Judaism” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Judaism: An Overview” from Encyclopedia of Religion (2^nd edition)

Zoroastrianism

Zoroastrianism from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Zoroastrianism” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Zoroastrianism” from the Encyclopedia of Religion

“Zoroastrianism”In Atlas of World Religions

Byzantine Empire

"Byzantines" In Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Alternatives:

“Byzantine Empire”from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Byzantine Empire” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia

Eastern Orthodoxy

"Eastern Orthodoxy" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Eastern Orthodox Church” from Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa

Charlemagne

"Charlemagne" Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Charlemagne” from the Britannica Guide to the World’s Most Influential People

“Charlemagne” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

“Charlemagne” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia

“Charlemagne” from Encyclopedia of Catholicism

Viking People

"Viking or Norseman" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Vikings” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

"Frank" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Franks” from The Columbia Encyclopedia

“Franks” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia

Celtic Religion: Beliefs, Practices, and Institutions

"Celtic Religion" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“Celtic Religions” from the Encyclopedia of Religion (2^nd Edition)

“Celtic Religion” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia

Islam

Select paragraphs from “Islam” from the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

“Islam” In Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Islam (2nd ed.).

Select paragraphs from ”Islam: An Overview” from the Encyclopedia of Religion (2^nd Edition)

Medieval European Judaism

“Judaism: An Overview” from the Encyclopedia of Religion; contains a section on Medieval Judaism

“Jews, European” from Cassell’s Peoples, Nations, and Cultures

East-West Schism

Schism of 1054 from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives:

“East-West Schism”from The MacMillan Encyclopedia

“The Great Schism: 1054” In World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set (1st ed.).

From Schism to the Reformation

Select paragraphs from Fastiggi, R. “Church, History of: II. Medieval” from New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2010

Select paragraphs from Knowles, M.D. “Church, History of: II. Medieval” from the New Catholic Encyclopedia (2^nd Ed.)

Islam

Select paragraphs from ”Islam: An Overview” from the Encyclopedia of Religion (2^nd Edition)

Religious Architecture

“Architecture” from the Encyclopedia of Religion (2^nd Ed.)

Christian Architecture

Articles/Chapters

Wall, D. R., et al. " Church Architecture, History of. " New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Gale, 2003, pp. 669-718.

Stegers, R. (2008). Church architecture . In J. Benyamin (Ed.) Sacred Buildings: A design manual (pp. 10-37). Birkhauser.

Jewish Architecture

Articles/Chapters

Hollenstein, R. (2008). Synagogue architecture . In J. Benyamin (Ed.) Sacred Buildings: A design manual (pp.38-45). Birkhauser.

Gutmann, Joseph, and Steven Fine. " Synagogue. " Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 13, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 8920-8926.

Islamic Architecture

“Moorish art and architecture” from the Columbia Encyclopedia

“Mosque Cathedral of Córdoba” from Key Building from Prehistory to the Present

Reformation

"Reformation" from Britannica Concise:

Alternatives

“Reformation” from Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology

"Reformation" from Global Dictionary of Theology

Council of Trent

"Trent, Council of" from Britannica Concise:

“Council of Trent” In Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Catholicism (2nd ed.).

Holocaust World War II And The Holocaust from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Second Vatican Council Documents of the Second Vatican Council from the Vatican Ecumenical Councils Archive

Evangelicalism

“Evangelicalism” In Encyclopedia of American Religious History

“Evangelicalism” In Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought

Sufism Islamic Mysticism: An Introduction to Sufi Islam