Current News and Historical Newspapers
- Native TimesThe Native American Times was launched in 1994 as the Oklahoma Indian Times by Jim Gray (Osage) and Elizabeth Gaines (Cherokee). It was a bi-weekly newspaper distributed throughout Oklahoma. In 2008, Lisa Hicks Snell, Cherokee, purchased the Native American Times and moved its headquarters to Tahlequah, Oklahoma.
- Indians of North America Digitized NewspapersFrom Library of Congress, Chronicling America has 28 newspapers from around the country ranging from the 1820s-1960s.
Books and e-books
Poet Warrior : a memoir
Joy Harjo, the first Native American to serve as U.S. poet laureate, invites us to travel along the heartaches, losses, and humble realizations of her "poet-warrior" road. A musical, kaleidoscopic, and wise follow-up to Crazy Brave, Poet Warrior reveals how Harjo came to write poetry of compassion and healing, poetry with the power to unearth the truth and demand justice.
House Made of Dawn
The magnificent Pulitzer Prize-winning novel of a stranger in his native land. A young Native American, Abel has come home from war to find himself caught between two worlds. The first is the world of his father's, wedding him to the rhythm of the seasons, the harsh beauty of the land, and the ancient rites and traditions of his people. But the other world--modern, industrial America--pulls at Abel, demanding his loyalty, trying to claim his soul, and goading him into a destructive, compulsive cycle of depravity and disgust.
Genocidal Love : A Life After Residential School
Presenting herself as "Myrtle," residential school survivor and Indigenous television personality Bevann Fox explores essential questions by recounting her life through fiction. She shares memories of an early childhood filled with love with her grandparents--until she is sent to residential school at the age of seven. Her horrific experiences of abuse there left her without a voice, timid and nervous, never sure, never trusting, affecting her romantic relationships and family bonds for years to come.This is the story of Myrtle battling to recover her voice.
The Removed : a novel
Drawing deeply on Cherokee folklore, The Removed seamlessly blends the real and spiritual to excavate the deep reverberations of trauma—a meditation on family, grief, home, and the power of stories on both a personal and ancestral level.
There There
A wondrous and shattering award-winning novel that follows twelve characters from Native communities: all traveling to the Big Oakland Powwow, all connected to one another in ways they may not yet realize.
Sweetgrass Basket
Mattie and Sarah are two Mohawk sisters who are sent to an off-reservation school after the death of their mother. Subject to intimidation and corporal punishment, with little hope of contact with their father, the girls are taught menial tasks to prepare them for life as domestics. How Mattie and Sarah protect their culture, memories of their family life, and their love for each other makes for a powerful, unforgettable historical novel.
Doubters and Dreamers
Doubters and Dreamers opens with a question from a young girl faced with the spectacle of Indian effigies lynched and burned "in jest" before UC Berkeley's annual Big Game against Stanford: "What's a debacle, Mom?" This innocent but telling question marks the girl's entrée into the complicated knowledge of her heritage as a mixed-blood Native American of Koyangk'auwi (Concow) Maidu descent. The girl is a young Janice Gould, and the poems and narrations that follow constitute a remarkable work of sustained and courageous self-revelation, retracing the precarious emotional terrain of an adolescence shaped by a mother's tough love and a growing consciousness of an ancestral and familial past.
Recovering Native American Writings in the Boarding School Press
Recovering Native American Writings in the Boarding School Press is the first comprehensive collection of writings by students and well-known Native American authors who published in boarding school newspapers during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Learning to write "Indian" : the boarding-school experience and American Indian literature
Katanski investigates the impact of the Indian boarding school experience on the American Indian literary tradition through an examination of turn-of-the century student essays and autobiographies as well as contemporary plays, novels, and poetry. This unique volume, with 13 b&w illustrations, looks at writings about the schools as literature, rather than historical evidence.
Languages
- The Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA)AILLA is a digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the Indigenous languages of Latin America. Translations are available in Spanish, English and Portuguese. Make a free account to access their content such as narratives, oratory discourse, conversations, songs, chants, and more. The archive also contains language documentation materials, grammars, dictionaries, ethnographies, and field notes, as well as teaching materials for higher and bilingual education and for language maintenance, revitalization, and reclamation programs.
- Ulukau: the Hawaiian Electronic LibraryThe purpose of Ulukau, the Hawaiian Electronic Library, is to make these resources available for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi. Site contains links to newspapers, language help, photos, genealogy, music, and more. Ulukau was founded by Hale Kuamoʻo and is co-sponsored by Hale Kuamoʻo, Ka Haka ʻUla O Keʻelikōlani, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo and the Native Hawaiian Library, ALU LIKE, Inc.
Film and Art
- American Indian Film GalleryThe American Indian Film Gallery (AIFG) is an online collection of films by and about Native peoples of the Americas, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald. The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011.
- Indigenous CinemaThrough the National Film Board of Canada, launched in 2018, this large collection of freely available films ranging from 1968 to 2018 are all made by indigenous filmmakers.
- A Song for the Horse Nation: Horses in Native American Culture"The Spanish used the horse as an instrument of warfare and control. But as soon as horses came into Indian hands, Native peoples began to weave a close relationship with the Horse Nation. By the late 1700s, virtually every tribe in the West was mounted. " Digital exhibition from the physical exhibitions at the George Gustav Heye Center from 2009-2011, and the National Museum of the American Indian highlights the importance of horses in Native American life.