Open Internet Collections
- The Ten Tribes PartnershipThe Ten Tribes Partnership is a coalition of Upper and Lower Basin Tribes that have come together to claim their seat at the table and raise their voices in the management of the Colorado River as water challenges persist. Formed in 1992, the goal of the Ten Tribes Partnership is to increase the influence of tribes in Colorado River management and provide support for the protection and use of tribal water resources.
- The Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs (CCIA)The Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs (CCIA), serves as the official liaison between the State of Colorado and Colorado’s two land based tribes, the Southern Ute Indian Tribe headquartered in Ignacio, Colorado and Ute Mountain Ute Tribe headquartered in Towaoc, Colorado. The Commission is fully committed to work on a government-to-government basis with each of the two Ute Tribal governments and to maintaining direct contact with the other 46 Historic Tribes of Colorado and off-reservation American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) communities.
Tribal Governments and Information
While Colorado has two federally recognized tribes, the Southern Ute and Ute Mountain Ute tribes, the state's current boundaries and history intersect with many tribes from North America. This list is not meant to be all-inclusive, but rather acknowledge the Arapaho, Cheyenne and Ute Nations, while also recognizing the 48 tribal nations that are historically tied to the lands that make up the state of Colorado. Please visit this comprehensive list from Colorado State University to see the other tribes who've impacted Colorado.
- The Ute Mountain Ute TribeInformation about the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe including government, social services, education, and history.
- Southern Ute Indian TribeFrom the Southern Ute Reservation in Colorado, links to news, government, events, and more.
- Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray ReservationInformation for the Ute tribe in southern Utah, the site has links to government, events, news, and more.
- Northern Arapaho TribeThe Northern Arapaho Tribe of Wyoming is one of four groups of Arapaho who originally occupied the headwaters of the Arkansas and Platte Rivers. Find events, government, services, and more.
- Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes websiteAccess tribal services, the calendar of events and Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes news.
- Cheyenne River Sioux TribeOfficial site for the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, links to news, history, events, government, and more.
- The Colorado River Indian TribesFind news and events for the four distinct ethnic groups associated with the Colorado River Indian Reservation: the Mohave, Chemehuevi, Hopi, and Navajo.
- The Eastern Shoshone TribeFInd news, events, government information and more for the Eastern Shoshone, Wind River Reservation in Wyoming.
- The Hopi TribeOfficial website for the Hopi tribe, has onformation about givernment, social services, news, and more.
- The Comanche NationOfficial site for the Comanche tribe, contains links to news, events, government, and more.
- The Navajo NationOffical site for the Navajo Nation, contains government services, news, events, and history.
Books and e-books
Non-Fiction
"The Utes must go!" : American expansion and the removal of a people by Call Number: E83.879 .D43 2004ISBN: 1555914659Publication Date: 2004-04-01Tracing three centuries of Ute Indian history, "The Utes Must Go!" chronicles the policies and incidents that led to the involuntary removal of the Ute Indians from Colorado, New Mexico, and Wyoming.
The Ute Indians of Utah, Colorado and New Mexico by Call Number: E99.U8 S55 2000ISBN: 0870815717Publication Date: 2000-04-01In The Ute Indians of Utah, Colorado, and New Mexico, Virginia McConnell Simmons provides a detailed and accurate account of this indigenous nation. Using government documents, archives, and local histories, Simmons has separated the often repeated and often incorrect hearsay from more accurate accounts of the Ute Indians.
The Three Battles of Sand Creek : The Cheyenne Massacre in Blood, in Court, and As the End of History by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781611213119Publication Date: 2017-05-08The Sand Creek battle (or massacre) occurred on November 29-30, 1864, a confrontation between Cheyenne and Arapaho Indians and Colorado volunteer soldiers. The affair was a tragic event in American history, and what occurred there continues to be hotly contested.
Seeking the center place : archaeology and ancient communities in the Mesa Verde region by Call Number: E99.P9 S454 2002ISBN: 0874807352Publication Date: 2002-10-16Seeking the Center Place is the most detailed view we have ever had of the last Pueblo communities in the Mesa Verde region and will provide a better understanding of the factors that precipitated the migration of thousands of people.
Fiction
Wandering Stars by Call Number: DML 2nd Floor Browsing PS3615 .R32 W36 2024ISBN: 9780593318256Publication Date: 2024-02-27Extending his constellation of narratives into the past and future, Tommy Orange traces the legacies of the Sand Creek Massacre of 1864 and the Carlisle Indian Industrial School through three generations of a family in a story that is by turns shattering and wondrous.
Sabrina and Corina by Call Number: PS3606.A396 A6 2019ISBN: 9780525511298Publication Date: 2019-04-02Kali Fajardo-Anstine's magnetic story collection breathes life into her Indigenous Latina characters and the land they inhabit. Set against the remarkable backdrop of Denver, Colorado-a place that is as fierce as it is exquisite-these women navigate the land the way they navigate their lives- with caution, grace, and quiet force.
Blood Memory by Call Number: PS3553.O347 B55 2008ISBN: 9780425223451Publication Date: 2008-09-02Catherine McLeod is an investigative reporter for the Journal, one of Denver's major newspapers. Her relentless pursuit of the truth has earned her both accolades and enmity. But her recent coverage of the Arapaho and Cheyenne tribes filing to reclaim twenty-seven million acres of their ancestral lands has made her a target for assassination.
Art and Culture
- Denver March PowwowSince 1984, the heritage of American Indians has been celebrated in Denver every year at the Denver March Powwow, one of the largest events of its kind in the country. The Denver March Powwow features more than 1,500 dancers from close to 100 tribes from 38 states and three Canadian provinces. The three-day event takes place in late March, in the Denver Coliseum and is packed with singing, dancing, storytelling, food and art.
- Denver Art Museum -- Indigenous Arts of North America GalleriesFeaturing more than 18,000 objects ranging from ancient Puebloan and Mississippian ceramics to 19th-century beaded garments and carved masks to cutting-edge contemporary paintings, sculpture, photography and variable media art, the DAM holds one of the most comprehensive collections from this region in existence—with particular strengths in art from the Plains and the Southwest, as well as works from the Great Lakes, Northeast, and Subarctic regions.
- The Manitou Cliff DwellingsComprised of ancestral Pubeloan ruins, aproximately 800-100 years old, the 40 room site was originally located near McElmo Canyon, which is in the southwest corner of Colorado near Mesa Verde and Dolores. The process of relocating these cliff dwellings began in 1904 and was completed in 1907 when the preserve was opened to the public.