Open Internet Collections
- Tribal Lands Ceded to the United StatesThe mapped cessions and reservations included in the 67 maps correspond to entries in the Schedule of Indian Land Cessions, indicating the number and location of each cession by or reservation for the Indian tribes from the organization of the Federal Government to and including 1894, together with descriptions of the tracts so ceded or reserved, the date of the treaty, law or executive order governing the same, the name of the tribe or tribes affected thereby, and historical data and references bearing thereon, as set forth in the subtitle of the Schedule.
- Indigenous Digital Archive -- TreatiesThe National Archives Office of Innovation partnered with the Indigenous Digital Archive project of the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture, Santa Fe, to provide context about and connection to the National Archives' holdings of the Ratified Indian Treaties. While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
- Native Land DigitalNative Land Digital is an ongoing global project to document indigenous lands. The map is a living document, informed by the contributions of Indigenous communities, Indigenous knowledge holders and their stories. It does not claim to represent official or legal boundaries.
Books and e-books
Seeing Red : Indigenous Land, American Expansion, and the Political Economy of Plunder in North America
Against long odds the Anishinaabeg resisted removal, retaining thousands of acres of their homeland in what is now Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. Their success rested partly on their roles as sellers of natural resources and buyers of trade goods, which made them key players in the political economy of plunder that drove white settlement and U.S. development in the Old Northwest. But, as Michael Witgen demonstrates, the credit for Native persistence rested with the Anishinaabeg themselves. Outnumbering white settlers well into the nineteenth century, they leveraged their political savvy to advance a dual citizenship that enabled mixed-race tribal members to lay claim to a place in U.S. civil society.
Native Diasporas : Indigenous Identities and Settler Colonialism in the Americas
The arrival of European settlers in the Americas disrupted indigenous lifeways, and the effects of colonialism shattered Native communities. Forced migration and human trafficking created a diaspora of cultures, languages, and people. Gregory D. Smithers and Brooke N. Newman have gathered the work of leading scholars, including Bill Anthes, Duane Champagne, Daniel Cobb, Donald Fixico, and Joy Porter, among others, in examining an expansive range of Native peoples and the extent of their influences through reaggregation.
Native but Foreign : Indigenous Immigrants and Refugees in the North American Borderlands
In Native but Foreign, historian Brenden W. Rensink presents an innovative comparison of indigenous peoples who traversed North American borders in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, examining Crees and Chippewas, who crossed the border from Canada into Montana, and Yaquis from Mexico who migrated into Arizona. The resulting history questions how opposing national borders affect and react differently to Native identity and offers new insights into what it has meant to be "indigenous" or an "immigrant."
A post-exceptionalist perspective on early American history : American Wests, global Wests, and Indian Wars
Challenging the still widely held notion that American history is somehow exceptional or unique, this book argues that early America is best understood as a settler-colonial supplanting society. As Kakel shows, this society undertook the violent theft of Indigenous land and resources on a massive scale, and was driven by a logic of elimination and a genocidal imperative to rid the new white settler living space of its existing Indigenous inhabitants.
A line of blood and dirt : creating the Canada-United States border across indigenous land
'A Line of Blood and Dirt' examines the creation and enforcement of the border between Canada and the United States from 1775 until 1939.
From Treaties to Reserves
Though some believe that the Indian treaties of the 1870s achieved a unity of purpose between the Canadian government and First Nations, in From Treaties to Reserves D.J. Hall asserts that - as a result of profound cultural differences - each side interpreted the negotiations differently, leading to conflict and an acute sense of betrayal when neither group accomplished what the other had asked.
Library Databases
- HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite This link opens in a new windowA growing suite of databases that includes Slavery in America and the World, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, Civil Rights and Social Justice, Open Society Justice Initiative, LGBTQ+ Rights databases.