Open Internet Collections
- Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: A Guide to Resources at the Library of CongressThis guide provides an overview of resources at the Library of Congress that relate to Native communities in the continental United States, Alaska, Hawaii, Canada, Mexico, South America, and the Caribbean.
- Library of Congress -- Indigenous Law Web ArchiveThis is the Indigenous Law web archive of the Law Library of Congress. The Law Library collects and preserves primary law sources of Indigenous nations, which are sovereign governments by treaty with the United States. At the time this collection started, there are 578 tribes and 92 agencies. This archive includes constitutions of a number of sovereign nations, including Navajo Nation, Muscogee Nation, Cherokee Nation, Comanche Nation, Hopi Tribe, etc. and ordinances, Supreme Court papers, court rules and forms for criminal, civil and family courts, and wellness courts. Tribal executive orders, emergency orders, ordinances and legislation are included in this collection as well.
- Ulukau: the Hawaiian Electronic LibraryThe purpose of Ulukau, the Hawaiian Electronic Library, is to make these resources available for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi. Site contains links to newspapers, language help, photos, genealogy, music, and more. Ulukau was founded by Hale Kuamoʻo and is co-sponsored by Hale Kuamoʻo, Ka Haka ʻUla O Keʻelikōlani, University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo and the Native Hawaiian Library, ALU LIKE, Inc.
- John Carter Brown Library of the Early AmericasThrough Brown University, the John Carter Brown collection has thousands of digital images related to the early Americas and Indigenous history.
Books and e-books
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Publication Date: 2008Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Native Foodways : Indigenous North American Religious Traditions and Foods by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1438482612Publication Date: 2021-03-01Native Foodways is the first scholarly collection of essays devoted exclusively to the interplay of Indigenous religious traditions and foodways in North America. Drawing on diverse methodologies, the essays discuss significant confluences in selected examples of these religious traditions and foodways, providing rich individual case studies informed by relevant historical, ethnographic, and comparative data.
The indigenous languages of the Americas : history and classification by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780197673492Publication Date: 2024'The Indigenous Languages of the Americas' is a comprehensive assessment of what is known about their history and classification. It identifies gaps in knowledge and resolves controversial issues while making new contributions of its own.- Native American almanac : more than 50,000 years of the cultures and histories of indigenous peoples by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781786841469Publication Date: 2016From ancient rock drawings to todays urban living, the Native American Almanac: More Than 50,000 Years of the Cultures and Histories of Indigenous Peoples traces the rich heritage of indigenous people. It is a fascinating mix of biography, pre-contact and post-contact history, current events, Tribal Nations histories, enlightening insights on environmental and land issues, arts, treaties, languages, education, movements, and more.
The heartbeat of Wounded Knee : native America from 1890 to the present by Call Number: E77 .T797 2019ISBN: 1594633150Publication Date: 2019-01-22Treuer traces how conscription in the US military and the pull of urban life brought Indians into the mainstream and modern times, even as it steered the emerging shape of their self-rule and spawned a new generation of resistance. The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee is an essential, intimate history - and counter-narrative - of a resilient people in a transformative era.
Who Is an Indian? : Race, Place, and the Politics of Indigeneity in the Americas by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780802095527Publication Date: 2013-08-16This collection examines the changing roles of race and place in the politics of defining Indigenous identities in the Americas. Drawing on case studies of Indigenous communities across North America, the Caribbean, Central America, and South America, it is a rare volume to compare Indigenous experience throughout the western hemisphere.
Indians in the United States and Canada : A Comparative History, Second Edition by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781496204837Publication Date: 2018-09-01Drawing on a vast array of primary and secondary sources, Roger L. Nichols traces the changing relationships between Native peoples and whites in the United States and Canada from colonial times to the present. Dividing this history into five stages, beginning with Native supremacy over European settlers and concluding with Native peoples' political, economic, and cultural resurgence, Nichols carefully compares and contrasts the effects of each stage on Native populations in the United States and Canada.
Illustrated History of Canada's Native People, Fourth Edition : I Have Lived Here Since the World Began by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780773548008Publication Date: 2016-05-30Arthur Ray charts the history of Canada's Native people from first contact to current land claims. The result is a fascinating chronicle that spans 12,000 years and culminates in the headlines of today. In the preface to this new edition, Ray elaborates on the increasing effectiveness of Indigenous peoples and their leaders in bringing demands for justice to centre stage. He discusses recent court decisions, the final report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, and the hope for change following promises made by the new Trudeau government.
Library Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis is an archived collection of 150 e-journals in language & literature, music, art & art history, religion, history, and Asian, Jewish, and African-American studies. The journals are a nearly complete run from vol. 1 up to 4 years prior to the current issue. The individual journals can also be located through Lumen.
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowCross-search content from select Gale products, including the Regis Library's subscription access to Gale's OneFile periodicals databases covering multiple subject areas, In-Context article databases, and eBooks hosted on the Gale platform.
Community Spotlight
A Troubled Marriage : Indigenous Elites of the Colonial Americas by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780826361196Publication Date: 2020-04-01A Troubled Marriage describes the lives of native leaders whose resilience and creativity allowed them to survive and prosper in the traumatic era of European conquest and colonial rule.
The Lumbee Indians : An American Struggle by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781469646374Publication Date: 2018-09-10Jamestown, the Lost Colony of Roanoke, and Plymouth Rock are central to America's mythic origin stories. Then, we are told, the main characters--the "friendly" Native Americans who met the settlers--disappeared. But the history of the Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina demands that we tell a different story. As the largest tribe east of the Mississippi and one of the largest in the country, the Lumbees have survived in their original homelands, maintaining a distinct identity as Indians in a biracial South.
Queer natives in Latin America : forbidden chapters of colonial history by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9783030591335Publication Date: 2021This book defies long standing assumptions about indigenous societies in the Americas and shows that non-heteronormative sexualities were already present among native peoples in different regions of what is now Latin America before the arrival of European colonizers. Presenting data collected from both literature and field research, the authors give examples of native queer traditions in different cultural regions, such as Mesoamerica, the Amazon and the Andes, and analyze how colonization gradually imposed the models of sexuality and family organization considered as normal by the European settlers using methods such as forced labor, physical punishments and forced marriages.
Native Americans, the Mainline Church, and the Quest for Interracial Justice by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780827225299Publication Date: 2017-01-03In Native Americans, The Mainline Church, and the Quest for Interracial Justice, David Phillips Hansen lays out the church's role in helping America heal its bleeding wounds of systemic oppression. While many believe the United States is a melting pot for all cultures, Hansen asserts the longest war in human history is the one Anglo-Christians have waged on Native Americans.
The Woman Who Turned into a Jaguar, and Other Narratives of Native Women in Archives of Colonial Mexico by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780804756402Publication Date: 2017-01-11This book is an ambitious and wide-ranging social and cultural history of gender relations among indigenous peoples of New Spain, from the Spanish conquest through the first half of the eighteenth century. In this expansive account, Lisa Sousa focuses on four native groups in highland Mexico--the Nahua, Mixtec, Zapotec, and Mixe--and traces cross-cultural similarities and differences in the roles and status attributed to women in prehispanic and colonial Mesoamerica.
