How to do Library Research

What is a database?

A database is an electronic collection of searchable information which may include sources such as eBooks, articles, images, and more. Some databases are subject-specific while others store information on a variety of subjects. Researchers choose which databases to use based on the type of information they want to find.

What’s the difference between databases and Google or other search engines?

Google and other search engines are similar to databases because they contain an electronic collection of searchable information. Search engines pull information from a vast collection of sources across the web which can be beneficial or problematic depending on the scope of an investigation.

The A-Z Databases in the library are designed for more succinct searching, particularly when it comes to doing academic research. Information in databases is often protected by paywalls and is not freely available across the web. This is why it can be helpful to search for information using both search engines and databases depending on what kind of information you need. Databases also often include full citations which may or may not be available through search engines.

What is the best library database to use when starting my research?

We recommend LumenPlus for most keyword searches for articles, books, magazines, and other published papers. LumenPlus integrates most, but not all, of the libraries 260+ individual databases in one searchable interface. Coverage across nearly all subjects is good in LumenPlus, but there are occasions when you will be better served searching one of the subject specialized databases as listed on the subject and course research guides.

How do I connect Google Scholar with the Regis Library?

Many library resources are accessible through Google Scholar; however, Google Scholar might prompt you to pay for access to resources if it does not recognize you as a Regis University student or affiliate. To be recognized as a Regis University student or affiliate when you search Google Scholar, you must sync Google Scholar search results with the online holdings and digital subscriptions available from the Regis Library system. Please watch the video below for a brief demonstration of how to sync the library with Google Scholar.

What are research guides?

Research guides help researchers determine which databases, websites, books, and other information sources to use for their subject or discipline. Researchers might use multiple research guides for interdisciplinary research that covers more than one subject.