Open Internet Collections
- USA.gov -- The U.S. and its governmentGet facts about the U.S., its laws, history, and statistics. Learn about the president and how to contact elected officials and federal agencies.
- Core Documents of DemocracyHistoric texts such as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, the Federalist Papers, Articles of Confederation plus contemporary sources like Supreme Court Decisions, Executive Orders, the U.S. Budget, and the Economic Report of the President.
Getting started with Research
Use our catalog, LumenPlus, to search for your keywords and material type to find other reference items. Source types like encyclopedias, almanacs and atlases are under All Filters -- Source Type -- Research starters.
Books and e-books
Global encyclopedia of public administration, public policy, and governance
This global encyclopedic work serves as a comprehensive collection of global scholarship regarding the vast fields of public administration, public policy, governance, and management. Written and edited by leading international scholars and practitioners, this exhaustive resource covers all areas of the above fields and their numerous subfields of study.
Encyclopedia of American foreign policy
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, Second Edition details U.S. foreign affairs from the American Revolution up through the modern day. This comprehensive A-to-Z reference guide covers important people, groups and organizations, events, and legislation.
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Fourth Edition is the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day.
Library Databases
You can also use the databases below to search for topics around politics and policy. Search for names, events or even policy problems. Use Opposing Viewpoints for their Pro/Con arguments to get a better understanding of important issues.
- OECD Economic Surveys This link opens in a new windowThe OECD reviews the economies of its 30 member democracies at intervals of a few years. Each 170-page report examines productivity, taxation, fiscal policy, and long-term and short-term needs. There are also special reports on topics of current interest. Past issues are archived.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowFind overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo contains 410 reference dictionaries and handbooks in all subject areas. You’ll find entries for words, concepts, phenomena, quotes, figures, formulae, or historical or cultural events. Subjects range broadly over the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and foreign languages.