Prospector Catalog
Use Prospector to search for and request items from Regis University or other regional libraries. When you identify an item you want in Prospector, click on the "Request this Item" link to have it sent to a Regis Colorado campus. You will need your Regis ID number to complete the request process.
Books and e-books
American Government: Political Parties
Political Parties are not mentioned in the Constitution. How did they come about? Why are they important? This handbook examines the two-party system in the U.S. and how it evolved.
Law, society & politics : a critical analysis of U.S. Supreme Court power in the political & legal process
This book explores critical questions pertaining to the character and content of the American People as posited in the US Supreme Court's interpretation of the fundamental law. What exactly is an American? Who or what comprise the People? What are the constitutive sociocultural, political, and economic ordering principles of the American People and society? How does the Court impact the nationalist character and content of law and policy? From a sociocultural, economic, political, and ideological perspective, the Court's singular proclamations as to what the US Constitution means, what is its purpose, and how it is to be perceived and implemented have profound consequences for representational politics and notions of what exactly constitutes the American polity.
The State You See : How Government Visibility Creates Political Distrust and Racial Inequality
The State You See uncovers a racial gap in the way the American government appears in people's lives. It makes it clear that public policy changes over the last fifty years have driven all Americans to distrust the government that they see in their lives, even though Americans of different races are not seeing the same kind of government. The State You See is essential reading for anyone interested in understanding how the American government engages in subtle forms of discrimination and how it continues to uphold racial inequality in the present day.
LGBTQ Americans in the U.S. Political System : An Encyclopedia of Activists, Voters, Candidates, and Officeholders [2 Volumes]
This comprehensive sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the early 1970s to the present day, when LGBTQ issues occupy a prominent place in politics. This work provides a broad and authoritative survey of the ways in which gay Americans are influencing the tenor and trajectory of U.S. politics at the local, state, and national levels.
Punishment and Political Order
Most of us think of punishment as an ugly display of power. But punishment also tells us something about the ideals and aspirations of a people and their government. How a state punishes reveals whether or not it is confident in its own legitimacy and sovereignty. Punishment and Political Order examines the questions raised by the state's exercise of punitive power--from what it is about human psychology that desires sanction and order to how the state can administer pain while calling for justice.
Affluence and Influence : Economic Inequality and Political Power in America
Affluence and Influence definitively explores how political inequality in the United States has evolved over the last several decades and how this growing disparity has been shaped by interest groups, parties, and elections. At a time when economic and political inequality in the United States only continues to rise, Affluence and Influence raises important questions about whether American democracy is truly responding to the needs of all its citizens.
Presidents and Foreign Policy : Countdown to Ten Controversial Decisions
Presidents and Foreign Policy examines countdowns to ten important and controversial decisions in the post-World War II period, using the case study approach. The authors include one major controversy for each president from Truman to Clinton. The cases cover central issues of diplomacy, war and peace, and covert action that shaped the Cold War period and its aftermath in all major areas of the world.
The War on Poverty
The War on Poverty covers the history of poverty in the United States, explaining what poverty looks like today and highlighting key players and efforts to reduce poverty in the country.
The Pro-War Movement : Domestic Support for the Vietnam War and the Making of Modern American Conservatism
In the vast literature on the Vietnam War, much has been written about the antiwar movement and its influence on U.S. policy and politics. In this book, Sandra Scanlon shifts attention to those Americans who supported the war and explores the war's impact on the burgeoning conservative political movement of the 1960s and early 1970s.
The Political Economy of Agricultural and Food Policies
Food and agriculture have been subject to heavy-handed government interventions throughout much of history and across the globe, both in developing and in developed countries. Today, more than half a trillion US dollars are spent by some governments to support farmers, while other governments impose regulations and taxes that hurt farmers. Political considerations are therefore crucial to understand how agricultural and food policies are determined, to identify the constraints within which welfare-enhancing reforms are possible (or not), and finally to understand how coalitions can be created to stimulate growth and reduce poverty.
Political Aspects of Health Care : Navigating the Waters of Conflicting Policy
The title examines ongoing efforts to create and maintain a workable solution to the conflicts inherent in the US healthcare system from all angles, conflicts that arise due to the nature of our democratic government in which healthcare policies change based on the position of the voting majority in Congress at the time any action is taken. .
White House Politics and the Environment : Franklin D. Roosevelt to George W. Bush
Presidents and their administrations since the 1960s have become increasingly active in environmental politics, despite their touted lack of expertise and their apparent frequent discomfort with the issue. In White House Politics and the Environment: Franklin D. Roosevelt to George W. Bush, Byron W. Daynes and Glen Sussman study the multitude of resources presidents can use in their attempts to set the public agenda. They also provide a framework for considering the environmental direction and impact of U.S. presidents during the last seven decades, permitting an assessment of each president in terms of how his administration either aided or hindered the advancement of environmental issues.
Reform Without Justice: Latino Migrant Politics and the Homeland Security State
Ten years after the war on terror, the deportation of millions, and the ostensive rise of Latino political power,'Reform Without Justice' provides an analysis of both Latino migrant activism and state migration control as part of a dialectical problem facing 21st century democracy. This book explains the complex constellation of forces driving migration control policies and the challenges they present for Latino migrant activists and their allies in the post-9/11 era.
The Art of the Watchdog : Fighting Fraud, Waste, Abuse, and Corruption in Government
In The Art of the Watchdog, Daniel L. Feldman and David R. Eichenthal show how to fight back. Based on their own work in federal, state, and local government over the last forty years, they will arm you with the tools and techniques needed to put the spotlight on those who cheat and steal from the public or who squander valuable taxpayer dollars through waste and inefficiency.
Book Collections
- Books 24x7 This link opens in a new windowPlease log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.