CiteSeerX is a scientific literature digital library and search engine from Penn State.
Codecademy is website for teaching programming's core principles. Users do not need to install any programs; the editor and compiler are embedded within the website, making it easy to code, compile, and run programs. Codecademy also includes extensive resources for advanced learners or professional programmers.
CORR (Computing Research Repository)
A database from Cornell University providing open access to 550,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science and Quantitative Biology. CORR allows users to search, browse and download papers at no charge via its digital repository.
A part of the Free Dictionary by Farlex online, over 28,000 computer related terms are defined.
A resource for technology news, products, and apps reviews. DT is a well-designed and easy-to-use website.
DMOZ Open Directory Project: Computers
Managed by a global community of volunteers, the Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory on the Web.
FOLDOC: Free On-line Dictionary of Computing
Searchable on-line dictionary of computer related terms, including acronymns, architecture, operating systems, and programming.
Galaxy: Computer Technology eiNET.net
Established in 1994, eiNET is a searchable Internet directory that uses a team of skilled librarians to search the weband organize quality content.
Human-Computer Interaction Resources
Site allows you to search or browse over 64,000 publications about human-computer interaction.
Infomine Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Site from the University of California, with Internet resources for physical sciences, engineering, computing and math.
Internet Public Library 2
IPL2 is a browse able computer and Internet subject guide, hosted by the iSchool at Drexel University and Florida State University.
Conduct a unified search of the U.S. government's vast stores of scientific and technical information, including research from 17 U.S. government science organizations within 12 Federal agencies.
One of the premiere technology and social media websites on the Internet dedicated to science and technology-related news. All of the content is submitted by users and curated by a professional editorial team.
Udemy is a website with free and for pay online classes in coding, web development, sql, and mobile development. Courses are available on demand, and can be downloaded onto tablets or smart phones for offline use.
W3C: Web Accessibility Initiative
Information on policies and guidelines for designing Web sites to be accessible for users of assistive technology.
Provides free web templates that are easy to download and edit. Vertical and horizontal menus, graphics, fonts, icons, buttons, tutorials, and more are available.
Free encyclopedia containing definitions for computer and internet terminology.
WWW Computer Architecture Page (University of Wisconsin)
Links to the latest information on computer architecture research. Follow the link to "Tools, Benchmarks, and Simulators" for links to system-specific tools and simulators that are available on-line.
WWW Virtual Library: Computing and Computer Science
Gateway site to topics on computing and computer science, with categories like artificial intelligence, digital rights management, and logic programming, to name a few.
Reviews of computer and other technical items.
Use this checklist to determine if a source is appropriate:
Authority: Who wrote it? What credentials does s/he have? [PhD, affiliation with university]
Source: Where was it published? How was it selected for publication? [look at submission guidelines for evidence of peer review or other editorial processes]
Currency: When was it published? Has it appeared in other forms with/out revision?
Research: Are other sources cited in a bibliography/reference list? Are foot/endnotes used?
Bias: Is there an objective viewpoint? Is the author making assertions without documentation, or with questionable documentation? [e.g., her/his own work, crackpots]