LumenPlus: Search for articles, books, media, and more...
-
What is LumenPlus? A user guide for LumenPlus, the Regis Lbrary's instance of the EBSCO Discovery Service.
Books and e-books
Revitalizing Health Care Ethics: The Clinician’s Voice
This open access book explores the origins and development of the clinician's moral voice and how that voice is embedded in the informal ethical discourse of everyday health care. This moral voice, developed over the course of a lifetime--including through professional education and practice--enables clinicians to understand and address the ethical issues that arise in their everyday work with patients, families, and colleagues.
Responsible and Explainable Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare
Responsible and Explainable Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare: Ethics and Transparency at the Intersection provides clear guidance on building trustworthy Artificial Intelligence systems for healthcare. The book focuses on using Artificial Intelligence to improve diagnosis, prevent diseases, and personalize patient care. It addresses potential drawbacks, like reduced human interaction and ethical concerns, offering solutions for ethical and transparent Artificial Intelligence use in medicine.
Healthcare Ethics for Healthcare Practitioners
Healthcare ethics cannot be limited in scope to apply only to the patient but needs to apply to the healthcare practitioner as well. The relationship between the patient and the healthcare practitioner has shifted from a power relationship to a complementary relationship. Leadership, mentorship and coaching play important roles in facilitating this shift.
Health Care Ethics: critical issues for the 21st century
.Organized around the four central themes of healthcare ethics (theoretical foundations and issues for individuals, organizations, and society), Health Care Ethics, Fourth Edition brings together the insights of a diverse panel of leading experts in the fields of bioethics, long-term care, and health administration, among others. Students will build on this critical platform to develop an extensive toolbox of analytical and problem-solving skills. The fully revised and updated Fourth Edition addresses current changes in health care, including three new chapters covering ethical issues related to Health Information Management, Patient Safety, and Epidemics.
Ethics in Health Administration
Given the many new advances in technology as well as the roll out of the Affordable Care Act, today's healthcare administrators require a strong foundation in practice-based ethics to confront the challenges of the current healthcare landscape. This edition translates the principles and practice of ethics into usable information for application to the real world of healthcare administration and the critical issues faced by today's healthcare administrators.
Electronic book collections
-
Books 24x7 This link opens in a new windowPlease log out when finished with this valuable collection of full-text electronic books. Thousands of current titles, especially in IT, business, nonprofit management and leadership are here. Search by keyword in title or even in full-text. Build your own list of favorites and bookmark.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo contains 410 reference dictionaries and handbooks in all subject areas. You’ll find entries for words, concepts, phenomena, quotes, figures, formulae, or historical or cultural events. Subjects range broadly over the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and foreign languages.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowThis is a great place to begin for research in humanities, social sciences, health, education, religion, business, biography, art, or law. GVRL has the multi-volume Dictionary of American History, Business Plans Handbook, and complete encyclopedias of Education, Sociology, Mental Health, Philosophy, Religion, Judaism and Catholicism.
-
National Academies Press (NAP) This link opens in a new windowNAP publishes the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. NAP offers more than 4,000 titles on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health in PDF format. All of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book, with some exceptions.