Databases
Search for instruments using these databases. You may cut and paste this search statement in a search box in the EBSCOhost databases listed below to focus your search on research instruments: (instrument OR instruments OR questionnaire OR questionnaires OR survey OR scale OR index OR tool).
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is the professional source for full-text articles from over 580 journals in nursing and allied health. It also has citations and abstracts for many additional journals. Other publication types included are relevant legal cases, clinical innovations and trials, and citations to dissertations in nursing. CINAHL Headings help define search terms. Video tutorials for this database can be accessed here. The print indexes (vol. 1-21) cover the years 1965-1975 and are not duplicated in the online database. They can be found in DML 2nd floor Reference RT1 .C8
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowA vast education resource center, ERIC indexes books, journals, conference papers, research reports, curriculum studies, and policy documents on all aspects of schools and learning. ERIC has citations, abstracts, and many full-text public sources.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowThe largest index of medical literature, MEDLINE has citations and abstracts from more than 5,400 journals worldwide. The citations link to full-text in our other databases, where available. The MeSH subject headings help in selecting the best search terms.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowArticle citations and detailed abstracts of articles from over 2,000 journals published internationally in all areas of psychology from 1872 to the present. Links to full-text articles from PsycARTICLES and Academic Search Premier.
Measurement of Nursing Outcomes (Online books)
The Measurement of Nursing Outcomes series contains a number of full-text instruments. You can access all three volumes of the second edition by clicking the titles below. Use the index in the box above to search by topic or title of the instrument. You can sign in to read the books by entering your RegisNET username and password. If you are not sure what they are, contact ITS at 303-458-4050.
- Master Index for Measurement of Nursing Outcomes, 2nd ed.,This index was compiled by a Reference Librarian at the Dayton Memorial Library, Regis University. Use the index to find the volume number and page number of the instrument of interest.
- Measurement of Nursing Outcomes, Volume 1, (2nd ed., 2001 ) EBOOKVolume 1: Measuring Nursing Performance in Practice, Education, and Research. Click the link to "Electronic Book." You will be prompted for your RegisNET username and password.
- Measurement of Nursing Outcomes. Vol. 2. (2nd ed.) EBOOKVolume 2: Client Outcomes and Quality of Care. 2nd ed. Click "Electronic Book" to connect to full text ebook. You may be prompted for your RegisNET username and password.
- Measurement of Nursing Outcomes, Volume 3 (2nd ed.) EBOOKVolume 3: Self Care and Coping. 2nd edition.
Click "Electronic Book" link to access the online book. You will be prompted for your RegisNET username and password. - Measurement of Nursing Outcomes, 1st ed. (1988- 1990) v. 1-4. PRINT ONLYThis is the first edition of the series. It is in print (not online) on the 2nd floor of Dayton Memorial Library (DML). Call number: Ref RT 85.5.M434 1988 v.1-4. The first and second edition have some overlapping content but they also have some unique content.
How to Find Research Instruments
Finding an instrument that is right for your research can be a challenge. This page contains links to sources that may help you locate an instrument for your capstone project. You will need to enter your RegisNET username and password to use the Regis databases and online books.
Online Instrument Indexes.
The HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments), Mental Measurement Yearbooks with Tests in Print databases may help you find out the name of an appropriate instrument but it can still be difficult finding the instrument itself. You might have to contact the author or publisher for permission to use the instrument and you may be required to purchase the instrument. Some instruments have been published full-text in journal articles or books.
Full-Text Instruments in Books:
- The Measurement of Nursing Outcomes series contains some full text instruments. An index for the MNO series has been compiled to allow you to search for instruments in all three volumes at the same time. We have both electronic and print editions. See below.
Databases.
Journal Article Databases such as CINAHL (nursing journals),MEDLINE (medical and health care journals), PsycINFO (psychology journals), ERIC (education journals), and Academic Search Premier (journals in a variety of subjects) may be used to find instruments evaluated or used in research articles. Our library purchases these databases from a company called EBSCOhost. As with the HaPI, MMY, & TIP databases, the instruments found by the databases might not be contained in the article about the database. If it is included in the article, it may be in the appendix at the end of the article.
If you need help finding instruments, please contact the Research Help Desk at 303-458-4031 or library@regis.edu.
Recommended Websites
- Medical Outcomes Trust InstrumentsInstruments approved my the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Medical Outcomes Trust. This website does not contain the tests but describes them and provides links so the publisher may be contacted.
- Multidimensional Measurement of Religiousness/Spirituality for Use in Health ResearchThis links to a booklet from the Fetzer Organization with recommended instruments.
- Substance Use Screening and Assessment DatabaseSearch for substance use and abuse instruments. Some of the instruments are in the public domain and can be downloaded free and others are under copyright protection.