Evaluating Resources
Use this checklist to determine if a source is appropriate:
Authority: Who wrote it? What credentials does s/he have? [PhD, affiliation with university]
Source: Where was it published? How was it selected for publication? [look at submission guidelines for evidence of peer review or other editorial processes]
Currency: When was it published? Has it appeared in other forms with/out revision?
Research: Are other sources cited in a bibliography/reference list? Are foot/endnotes used?
Bias: Is there an objective viewpoint? Is the author making assertions without documentation, or with questionable documentation? [e.g., her/his own work, crackpots]
Find PT articles
-
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowConsidered the “gold standard” for evidence-based practice, Cochrane Library is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (“Reviews”), which has full-text evidence-based reviews of health care practices and treatments. Additional databases that are not full-text: abstracts of systematic reviews, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and citations to clinical trials.
-
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes the full-text for over 1,600 Elsevier journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine. Over 6.5 million articles are available from all fields of science. Full-text is available from 1995 for most journals, however, a full-text for a sub-set of the titles begins in 1993.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. See PubMed User Guide for more information.
-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowThe largest index of medical literature, MEDLINE has citations and abstracts from more than 5,400 journals worldwide. The citations link to full-text in our other databases, where available. The MeSH subject headings help in selecting the best search terms.
-
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is the professional source for full-text articles from journals in nursing and allied health. It also has citations and abstracts for many additional journals. Other publication types included are relevant legal cases, clinical innovations and trials, and citations to dissertations in nursing. CINAHL Headings help define search terms.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA favorite for the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, medicine, and education, ASP indexes 8,200 periodicals. Full-text articles from 3,750 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals are found here, plus a number of popular sources.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowThe academic side of Google is here, retrieving articles, chapters, books, and reports from university presses and other sources. Books out of copyright are here in full text. From the Settings, select "Library Links" to add Regis and see “Full Text @ My Library” among your search results.
Full Text Finder
If the full text of an article isn't available from the database you're searching, click on the Full Text Finder link that appears below the citation or abstract to see if it is available elsewhere. A new tab or window will open when you click the Full Text Finder link, and all linked options for accessing the full-text document will be listed. Links on this page are formatted to prompt the Regis login for subscription access. Options may include:
Check for full text at the publisher's site: this link will direct the user to the publisher's Web site while passing through our institutional subscription.- Find this article in full text from EBSCOhost SmartLinks+: this link will connect the user to the resource in our library system that provides full-text.
- Find this article in full text from [database name]: this link will connect the user to a specific database in our system that provides access to the full-text document.
- Request this item through interlibrary loan: if no other options are presented, the user can request a digital copy of the article using the interlibrary loan system.