Communication Research Guide

A guide to articles, books, and other resources for research in communication.

Books and e-books

The Routledge Handbook of Language and Intercultural Communication

The Routledge Handbook of Language and Intercultural Communication constitutes a comprehensive introduction to the multidisciplinary field of intercultural communication, drawing on the expertise of leading scholars from diverse backgrounds. The Handbook is structured in five sections and covers historical perspectives, core issues and topics, and new debates in the field, with a particular focus on the language dimension. 

The Concise Encyclopedia of Communication

This concise volume presents key concepts and entries from the twelve-volume ICA International Encyclopedia of Communication (2008), condensing leading scholarship into a practical and valuable single volume. Based on the definitive twelve-volume IEC, this new concise edition presents key concepts and the most relevant headwords of communication science in an A-Z format in an up-to-date manner.

A Handbook of Media and Communication Research

A Handbook of Media and Communication Research presents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the study of media and communication, integrating perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities. Taking methodology as a strategic level of analysis that joins practical concerns with theoretical issues, the Handbook offers a comprehensive and in-depth review of the field and a set of guidelines for how to think about, plan, and carry out media and communication studies in different social and cultural contexts. 

The International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication, 3 Volume Set

The International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication presents a comprehensive overview of the theories, concepts and processes that interpersonal communication researchers use to explain a wide variety of social interaction phenomena.

Handbook of Communication for Development and Social Change

This handbook provides a single reference resource for communication for development and social change. Increasingly, one considers communication to be crucial to effectively tackle the major problems of today. Hence, the question being addressed in this handbook is, is there a right communication strategy? Perspectives on sustainability, participation, and culture in communication have changed over time in line with the evolution of development approaches and trends, and in response to the need for effective applications of communication methods and tools to new issues and priorities. 

Legal language and business communication

The book discusses the proper usage of legal language in business communication. While communicating, a business leader has to take care of the legal periphery which he should never transgress. However, legal language in itself can be so complex and difficult that it is many a time unclear as to what meaning can be ascribed to different words and phrases used in a particular context. The book explores such topics.

The Oxford Handbook of Political Communication

As a field of rich theoretical development and practical application, political communication has expanded over the past fifty years. Since its development shaped by the turmoil of the World Wars and suspicion of new technologies such as film and radio, the discipline has become a hybrid field largely devoted to connecting the dots between political rhetoric, politicians and leaders, voters' opinions, and media exposure to better understand how any one aspect can affects the others. The Oxford Handbook of Political Communication provides contexts for viewing the field of political communication, examines political discourse, media, and considers political communication's evolution inside the altered political communication landscape. 

Encyclopedia of Health Communication

Features: Nearly 600 original articles organized A-to-Z within a three-volume set to provide comprehensive coverage of this exciting field, including such topics as theories and research traditions; evaluation and assessment; cultural complexities; high risk and special populations; message design and campaigns; provider/patient interaction issues; media issues; and more. All articles were specifically commissioned for this work, signed and authored by key figures in the field, and conclude with cross reference links and suggestions for further reading.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications

The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content - from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials - is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.

Getting started with Research

Use our catalog, LumenPlus, to search for your keywords and material type to find other reference items. Source types like encyclopedias, almanacs and atlases are under All Filters -- Source Type -- Research starters.

LumenPlus

Advanced Search

Key Databases

These three databases are most likely to hold relevant sources for research in Communications:

Reference Databases

You can also use the databases below to search for topics around communications. Search for methodology, theory, or research methods. These can be especially helpful when just getting started or while formulating your research topic!

Subjects: Communication