Ammon Hennacy in Denver, c 1952 or 1953.
The Ammon Hennacy Papers were collected by Elliot Wager, during the course of his friendship with Hennacy. The collection includes letters from Hennacy to Wager from 1942 – 1968, and an index of them, created by Wager. In his letters, Hennacy describes his personal life, his writings, and his activism against institutional authorities.
The collection also contains some protest pamphlets and leaflets written by Hennacy, copies of Hennacy’s articles in The Catholic Worker , and a signed copy of his book The Autobiography of a Catholic Anarchist. There are two photographs of Hennacy , taken while visiting Wager in Denver, CO.
There is a description of the Joe Hill House, founded by Ammon Hennacy and Mary Lathrop in 1961, and a brief chronology, created by Wager, of events in Hennacy’s life. Lastly, there is a spiral binder containing both the memorial tributes to Ammon Hennacy printed in The February 1970 issue of The Catholic Worker, as well as excerpts of some of his best-known articles.
The Regis University Archives and Special Collections are located in the Dayton Memorial Library in Suite 104.
All archives and collections are non-circulating and are accessible by appointment only.
Patrons that have not set an appointment are not guaranteed consultation with the archivist.
Before visiting please submit a research request via the research request form. Walk-in researchers are not guaranteed access to archival and collection materials.
Please contact Archives and Special Collections at 303.458.4128 or email email@example.com with any questions.