Biological Sciences Research Guide

• Data.gov
  Open Federal, state and local data from the United States government.
• Dryad

  Repository of research data underlying scientific and medical publications, predominantly from peer-reviewed journal articles.
• Figshare

  General repository for research outputs, including data sets, media, papers, posters and groups of files.
• NIH Data Sharing Repositories

  List of NIH-supported data repositories and resources that aggregate information about biomedical data. Each entry has a brief description of the repository and links to data submission and access policies.
• re3data.org

  Global registry of research data repositories.

Structure Data

• Nucleotide

  Collection of sequences from multiple sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, and Protein Data Bank (PDB). Searching Nucleotide will yield results from each of its component databases, which can also be searched separately. [NCBI database]
• SRA: Sequence Read Archive

  Repository for raw sequencing data from next-generation sequencing technologies. [NCBI database]
• UniProt

  Universal Protein Resource (UniProt), a collaboration between the European Bioinformatics Institute, the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics and Protein Information Resource, provides high-quality, freely accessible protein sequence and functional information.

Gene & Expression Data

• Avian Knowledge Network (AKN)

  Partnership of people, institutions and government agencies that supports the conservation of birds and their habitats by improving access to and use of data and tools. Data available on bird-monitoring, banding and citizen-based bird-surveillance.
• Catalog of Life

  Single integrated species checklist and taxonomic hierarchy. The Catalogue holds essential information on the names, relationships and distributions of over 1.6 million species.
• Data Basin

  Provides free access to biological, physical and socioeconomic geospatial data and maps, along with tools to create custom visualizations, drawings and analyses.
• Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)

  GBIF facilitates free and open access to biodiversity data, enabling anyone to discover, use or publish data about all types of life on Earth.
• Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)

  Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi and microbes of North America and the world. Full database or specific taxonomic group data available for download.
• Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB)

  International repository for ecological and environmental data. Data originate from field stations, laboratories, research sites and individual researchers around the world.
• Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) Data Portal

  The Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) Network is a collaborative of researchers and graduate students who focus on long-term ecological processes at 26 LTER sites around the United States, Antarctica, and islands in the Caribbean and Pacific. The LTER Data Portal contains ecological data packages contributed by past and present LTER sites.
• MorphoBank

  Provides collaborative tools for researchers to upload images and morphological data, and use that information to produce, edit, illustrate and annotate phylogenetic matrices. Also a repository for data associated with peer-reviewed publications.
• NCBI Taxonomy

  National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) database of names and classification for all organisms represented in NCBI sequence databases.
• TreeBASE

  Repository of phylogenetic information, specifically user-submitted trees and the data used to generate them. Data in TreeBASE are available to the public if they have been used in a peer-reviewed publication.