Evaluating Resources
Use this checklist to determine if a source is appropriate:
Authority: Who wrote it? What credentials does s/he have? [PhD, affiliation with university]
Source: Where was it published? How was it selected for publication? [look at submission guidelines for evidence of peer review or other editorial processes]
Currency: When was it published? Has it appeared in other forms with/out revision?
Research: Are other sources cited in a bibliography/reference list? Are foot/endnotes used?
Bias: Is there an objective viewpoint? Is the author making assertions without documentation, or with questionable documentation? [e.g., her/his own work, crackpots]
LumenPlus: Search for articles, books, media, and more...
- What is LumenPlus? A user guide for LumenPlus, the Regis Lbrary's instance of the EBSCO Discovery Service.
Local News Sources & Gentrification Source
- The Denver Post at the Denver Public LibraryThis link will take you to the Denver Public Library's database for the Denver Post. As of 2017, Regis University no longer has an institutional subscription to the Denver Post online. You can access the Denver Post by obtaining a Denver Public Library card. Click here to sign up for a DPL card. All Regis students are eligible for DPL cards with quick online sign up.
- WestwordFrom Westword's Facebook page: Westword.com is Denver's leading source of news, criticism, event coverage and general screwing around. It's just like the paper, only you probably shouldn't line your bird cage with it.
- Newspaper Source Plus at the Denver Public LibraryCover-to-cover full-text for 25 national and international newspapers plus selective full-text for more than 335 regional U.S. newspapers. Also full-text television and radio news transcripts. Available through the Denver Public Library.
Demographics & Statistics
For demographic information on the communities served by your institution, use the following resources:
- Community Facts (Shift Research Lab)Community Facts is a tool developed by Shift Research Lab (a program of The Piton Foundation) to make data about the health and well-being of Denver-area families and communities widely accessible. Community Facts provides detailed information about geographical areas related to demographics, education, housing, economics, health, safety, and more. It includes data available in tables, maps and graphs.
- En/Route RegisEn/Route is an inspiring, alternative pathway through Regis University's First-Year Experience that seeks to link the practices of Eloquentia Perfecta with the skills and virtues required by another Jesuit ideal, that of being women and men in service of others.
- Colorado Department of Education: Education StatisticsUse this website to get updated information on a range of educational statistics, including enrollment, graduation rates, dropout rates, etc.
- US Census DataThe Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
